International Energy Agency: the IEA public interface for generating statistics by country and region. See also the publication Key World Energy Statistics available in pdf on the IEA website. The database SourceOECD contains the full datasets assembled by the IEA as well as IEA publications (such as Energy Technology Perspectives--Scenarios and Strategies to 2050). In SourceOECD, click on the Statistics tab and find the link to the IEA databases on the sidebar.
U.S. Energy Information Administration: analysis and data for both the United States and the world. Especially useful are the International Energy Outlooks published annually, the Monthly Energy Review, and the Country Energy Profiles and Analysis Briefs
United Nations Energy Programme: points to information on environmentally related activites of the United Nations. Many publications are freely available, such as the World Energy Assessment. Other UNEP publications may be found in AccessUN and UNEP data in UNdata as well as the Perkins/Bostock collection. The Assessments of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change document the state of the scientific consensus on global warming. The sub-report on Mitigation should be especially useful.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Climate Change Site: analysis and policy on climate change issues
The European Commission maintains useful pages on Energy policy and Environmental policy, as does the European Environment Agency of the European Union. See also the Energy.eu portal.
World Energy Council: an array of information sources on world energy. Note especially: the Survey of Energy Resources
Renewables Global Status Report: analysis of renewable energy published annually by the Worldwatch Institute
Statistical Review of World Energy: a frequently cited web publication compiled by BP Global
Environmental Sciences: a multidisciplinary database for researching environmental science, technology and policy
Environment & Energy Daily: reports on environmental and energy policy primarily in the U.S. but also internationally
NGOs: Environmentally Sustainable Development: a list compiled by our international documents librarian
Clean Tech Revolution: the Next Big Growth and Investment Opportunity by Ron Pernick (HarperCollins, 2007) - a recent book discussing green tech from an entrepreneurial perspective
Encyclopedia of Environment & Society (Sage Publications, 2007) a recent encyclopedia with articles treating the interaction of the environment, technology and society. Entries for countries and regions.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming & Climate Change (Sage Publications, 2008) a current encyclopedia with articles examining the scientific, technological, social, and policy ramifications of climate change. Entries for countries and regions.
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.