I. Industry Surveys
II. Industry Classification Codes
III. Company Research
IV. Articles (Trade & Academic Business Literature)
OneSource: a useful service to begin research on an industry (click on the Industries tab). Compiles many of the market research reports available from MarketLine (Datamonitor), Business Monitor, and StatUSA(GLOBUS). Generate geographic lists of companies within an industry by using the Industry Participants function linked from the summary page for each industry. Provides articles from relevant financial and trade publications. Alternatively, use OneSource to research the leading companies in an industry as a means for deriving an overview of the industry as a whole.
Hoover's Online Pro: Duke has access to the academic subscription which provides an intermediate level of data access to the Hoover's online service. Use the Industries tab to locate current industry profiles. The Advanced Search under the Companies tab will enable the identification of companies by industry, location, or size. Consult this guide for further help.
MarketLine: aka Datamonitor, contains profiles for over 2000 industries and 10,000 companies. Most of the industry profiles are included in OneSource (see above).
Plunkett Research Online: provides industry sector analysis for a number of significant industrial groupings. An informative report on outsourcing/offshoring.
Reuters Business Insight: full text market research reports focusing on five broad industry sectors: consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare, and technology.
Grey House Encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia of American Industries: Fuqua/Ford Library Ref. HC102 .E53
---- Contents for 2007 ed. ; 2005 ed. online
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries: Perkins/Bostock Ref Desk & Ford/Fuqua Library Ref. HD2324 .E5228
---- Contents for 2007 ed. ; no online edition
Encyclopedia of Global Industries: Perkins/Bostock Ref Desk & Ford/Fuqua Library Ref. HD2324 .E53
---- Contents for 2007 ed ; 2006 ed. online
Business Monitor: excellent country-based reports for the major industries covered. Company profiles offered as a grid of subsidiaries and competitors. Country risk reports available.
Oxford Analytica: is an independent international consulting firm based at Oxford but drawing upon faculty and researchers from major universities and research institutes around the world; Oxford Analytica research provides global strategic analysis of geopolitical, macroeconomic and social developments. Research can be targeted to specific industries by changing the menu to the NAICS or subject..
Mintel Reports: extensive research reports for the European and U.S. consumer markets.
ReferenceUSA: a database useful for generating lists of U.S. companies by industry for geographic regions. The CorpTech tab will target research to that sector of the U.S. and Canadian economies.
United States Commercial Service Market Research Library: Export.gov. over 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports. The U.S. Commercial Service is the trade promotion unit of the U.S. International Trade Administration.
Commodity Yearbook: latest edition at Perkins/Bostock Reference HF1041 .C56; earlier editions in stacks. Overview and data on major worldwide commodity markets. Published since 1939.
Industry classification codes have been developed to identify, define and categorize industries. They can be used in a number of databases to target retrieval by industry.
North American Industry Classification System (NAISC): Use this U.S. Census Bureau website to identify the codes for an industry. The NAICS codes were created to update and refine the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes, which are still actively being assigned. Databases will use one or the other, or sometimes both.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC): a four-digit classification system developed in the 1930's for use by the U.S. federal government. Although still in use, the SIC classification system is no longer being revised.
International Standard Industrial Classification (ISIC): maintained by the U.N. Statistics Division, the ISIC is used in a number of international databases, such as ILO's LABORSTA. Rev.3.1 is the current version. See link on sidebar to other available classifications.
Hoover's Online Pro: click on Companies tab for Hoover content for over 40,000 companies. Consult User Guide before searching.
Mergent Online: an excellent source of company financials and annual reports for U.S. and international firms. Company histories and lists of international subsidiaries.
LexisNexis Academic: use the Business tab to find information on specific companies, including extensive corporate hierarchies and competitors. The Dossier Create a Company List function permits identification of companies by SIC or NAICS with geographical and size limits.
Thomson ONE Banker: comprehensive financial data and business profiles for U.S. and international companies, with annual reports and other SEC filings. Use the "Search for Companies" function to create lists of firms by industry.
OneSource: worldwide company and industry profiles, supported by fulltext articles from business, financial and trade publications.
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies: Latest edition Fuqua Ford Library: HG4057 .A575; next latest: Perkins Bostock Library Ref: HG4057 .A565: basic corporate information on over 100,000 U.S. companies, 90% private. Three useful rankings: 1) by sales within 4-digit SIC; 2) by sales within 6 digit NAICS; 3) state rankings by sales within 4-digit SIC
Investext Plus: investment reports which often provide insight into strategic actions of companies in the domestic and world markets. Many industry reports searchable geographically.
International Directory of Company Histories: Perkins/Bostock Reference HD2721 .I63 descriptive histories of individual companies worldwide; master index for set in last volume
Market Share Reporter: Perkins/Bostock Reference HF5801 .M184 -- guide to company dominance in particular products and services; published since 1991 with older years in stacks.
Business Source Complete: a comprehensive database for doing business research. Provides indexing and fulltext access to the professional, trade and scholarly business literature, as well as country, industry, market and company reports (including company SWOT analyses).
ABI/INFORM Complete: excellent database for searching the business literature. The business subset of the ProQuest database. Deep historical indexing and fulltext for a number of publications.
Factiva: a comprehensive news service from Dow Jones providing the fulltext of many newspapers as well as a large number of industrial and trade media sources. Click on the "Search" tab to switch to an interface in which it is possible to search by industry, company, and region/country.
InfoTrac OneFile: a comprehensive index and fulltext database that provides access to an extensive collection of trade and industry publications. Do Subject Guide searches for companies or industries: e.g. Computer Industry, Footwear Industry, DuPont, or Ford and narrow by subdivision.
ProQuest Asian Business: business news from the Eastern Hemisphere, including significant publications like the Far Eastern Economic Review and AsiaWeek. This database is included in ABI/INFORM Complete but can be searched separately.
Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870