Employment Security Commission of North Carolina: employment and wage data for the state of North Carolina. Much of the ESC data is derived from statistics available from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics or from U.S. Census Bureau databases such as the Local Employment Dynamics site.
LINC: Log Into North Carolina: broad set of statistics for North Carolina at both the state and local levels.
North Carolina State Demographics: state, county and municipal population projections.
International Trade Administration TradeStats Express: generate international trade statistics for the state of North Carolina
American Fact Finder: a demographic and economic database mounted for public use by the U.S. Census Bureau. Find the link to the Annual Economic Surveys for employment and enterprise data down to the county level.
State Profile: North Carolina (Woods & Poole Economics): Perkins/Bostock Library Reference Desk HC107 .N8 N675: economic and demographic data for North Carolina with breakdowns by city and by county.
North Carolina Business Directory: Perkins/Bostock Library Reference Desk HC107 .N8 N7525: annual publication with 4 sections. 1) Business by City; 2) Business by Yellow Page Categories; 3) Major Employers & Publicly Traded Companies; 4) Manufacturers by City & SIC code
North Carolina Manufacturers Directory: Perkins Bostock Ref. HF5065 .N8 N67, earlier editions in stacks. Also in Fuqua Ford Library. Arranged geographically with indexes by industrial classification and product.
Harris North Carolina Services Directory: Ford Library Ref. HD9981.7 .N8 H37, older eds. in Library Service Center; companion to the North Carolina Manufacturers Directory.
Reference USA: a database useful for generating lists of U.S. companies by industry for geographic regions (e.g. North Carolina)
Factiva: the Search/Search Builder tab in Factiva offers a convenient interface for targeting a search to a state by expanding the "Region" option. Similarly, a search can be limited to sources published in North Carolina by opening the "Source " menu
America's Newspapers: North Carolina: search the recent decade+ of the major newspapers published in the state of North Carolina.
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.