Web Site Search

Ask us now

Graduate Study

Guides by Field of Study

These guides provide information on programs in specific fields of graduate education. They are often more detailed than the general guides and frequently include information about faculty and departmental specializations.

American Studies

"American Studies Programs In The United States: A Survey." Published biennially in even numbered years in American Quarterly, this survey provides a useful list of universities offering degrees in American Studies. There is, however, very little detailed information about schools or programs.

Anthropology

AAA Guide (American Anthropological Association Guide)
Latest Ed. in Perkins Ref. GN43. A2 G845
Graduate and undergraduate departments in 540 colleges and universities are described. Information found here includes degrees offered, faculty, enrollment, and special programs, resources, and facilities.

Architecture

Guide to Architecture Schools
Lilly Ref. 720.7 G946 A673x
For both graduates and undergraduates. Includes two-page descriptions of architecture programs with information on degrees offered, special activities and projects at each school for both graduates and undergraduates.

Art & Art History

Sweetow, Linda, and Carol Brown. The Art Student's College Guide
Lilly Ref. 707.1173 S974 A784 1996

Guide to American Art Schools
Lilly Ref. 707.1173 W487 G946 1987
Includes general descriptions, admissions requirements, enrollment statistics, program descriptions, faculty interests and other information about 384 accredited B.F.A. and M.F.A. programs in the United States. Non-academic art programs are also included.

Directory of MFA Programs in the Visual Arts
Lilly Stacks 707.1173 C697 D599 1992
An alphabetical listing of MFA programs in the United States, including general descriptions, admissions and degree requirements, tuition, etc.

Directory / National Association of Schools of Art and Design
Latest Ed. in Lilly Ref. 707.1173 N277D

Astronomy

Graduate Programs in Physics, Astronomy, and Related Fields
Lastest Ed. in Perkins Ref.
Entries describe academic departments and include admission requirements, graduate degree requirements, faculty, research specialties, and general information about each campus. Arrangement is alphabetical by state or Canadian province, then by name of school.

Business

Business Week Guide to the Best Business Schools
Latest at Perkins Ref. Desk HF1131. B95 
Graduate students and corporate recruiters rank and discuss over 40 graduate business schools. Provides in-depth and readable profiles of the top 20 schools, overviews of 20 other highly recommended institutions, and a section on "best buys."

Chemistry

ACS Directory of Graduate Research On Disc
Perkins Ref. CD ROM C9

Directory of Graduate Research
Latest Ed. in Perkins Ref. QD21 .D574

DGRweb

These are good guides to graduate education in chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, and pharmaceutical/medicinal chemistry. Some information on faculty and their research interests is included. Published biennially.

Communications

Directory of Graduate Programs. The Speech Communication Association.
Perkins Stacks P95 .D57
Information is arranged by state and includes names of department heads, admission requirements, fees, and areas of graduate concentration.

Dentistry

ADEA Official Guide to Dental Schools
Also at Perkins Ref. Desk RK91 .A582a
This work includes general information on careers in dentistry and detailed information on dental schools, including each school's curriculum, selection factors, admission requirements, and available financial aid. There is also a detailed list of expected expenses for each school.

Economics

The Economics Institute Guide to Graduate Study in Economics and Agricultural Economics in the United States of America and Canada
Library Service Center HB74.8 .G853
Information on programs of study, degrees awarded, faculties, costs, financial aid, admissions policies, and applications for American and Canadian schools. Section one contains general information about graduate programs in economics and agricultural economics and doctoral programs in business and administration; section two provides descriptions of specific programs; section three includes valuable information for foreign students; section four is a description of the Economics Institute, the publisher.

Geography

Guide to Geography Programs in the Americas: AAG Handbook and Directory of Geographers
Perkins Ref. G76.5 .U5 G8
Features sketches of individual schools, including information on admission requirements, course offerings, financial aid, programs and research facilities, faculty members, and theses and dissertations accepted.

Geology

Directory of Geoscience Departments: United States & Canada
Latest Ed. in Perkins Ref. QE47. A1 D57
Arranged alphabetically by state, this directory of 988 geoscience departments consists primarily of addresses and lists of faculty. There is an index to faculty members by name and by specialization.

History

Directory of History Departments. Historical Organizations, and Historians
Latest Ed. in Perkins Ref.  D16.3 .G83
A detailed guide which describes almost 800 U.S. and Canadian history departments in universities, colleges, and research institutions. It includes information on faculty, enrollment statistics, addresses, application deadlines, department specializations, tuition rates, and recent recipients of doctoral degrees.

Law

The Best Law Schools
Law Reference: KF266.S79
Note: Check catalog for availability.

Inside the Law Schools : a Guide by Students for Students
Law Ref. KF266 .G64 1998
Note: Check catalog for availability.

The Official Guide to ABA-Approved Law Schools
Latest Ed. at Perkins Ref. Desk KF273 .A86
This annual handbook contains descriptions of law schools accredited by the ABA. It also includes general information on the process of applying to law schools.

World Law School Directory
Law Ref. K100.A4 W67 2003
Note: Check catalog for availability.

Library Science

American Library Directory
Latest Ed. at Perkins Ref. Desk Z731 .A53
Includes, among other things, a directory of library schools and training courses which provides addresses, faculty/staff names, degrees offered, entrance requirements, scholarships granted, enrollment, and so forth. Schools accredited by the American Library Association are indicated.

Bowker Annual of Library and Book Trade Information
Latest Ed. at Perkins Ref. Desk Z731. A47
Includes a list of graduate schools of library science which are accredited by the American Library Association. Institutions are arranged by geographic region. Addresses, telephone numbers and the name of each school's dean is provided. There is also an index to scholarship information sources.

Linguistics

Directory of Programs and Departments. Linguistic Society of America.
Arranged alphabetically by institution name, this online directory provides such information as names of departmental staff members, special resources and facilities at each school, and uncommonly taught languages available in each department.

Medicine

Medical School Admission Requirements, United States and Canada
Latest Ed. in Med. Ctr. Ref. W19 As78a. 2004/2005 Ed. at Perkins Ref. Desk R745 .A8 
This work is the standard guide in this field. Section 1 includes general information on medical careers. Section 2 provides information on individual schools' curricula, entrance requirements, selection factors, and financial aid offerings. Information in section 2 is arranged by state.

Graduate Medical Education Directory
Med. Ctr. Ref. W20 G75
Describes programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.

Physics

Graduate Programs in Physics, Astronomy, and Related Fields
Lastest Ed. in Vesic Ref. 530.07 A512GB
Entries describe academic departments and include admission requirements, graduate degree requirements, faculty, research specialties, and general information about each campus. Arrangement is alphabetical by state or Canadian province, then by name of school.

Political Science

Graduate Faculty and Programs in Political Science
Perkins Stacks JA88 .U6 G8
Included are sketches of institutions offering one or more graduate degrees in political science. Descriptions provide information on financial aid, admissions, faculty interests, and program descriptions.

Psychology

Graduate Study in Psychology
Latest Ed. in Perkins Ref. BF77 .G73
More than 600 departments of psychology are described in this guide. Detailed information on application procedure, students, degree and admission requirements, tuition and fees, financial assistance, and departmental objectives.

Sociology

Guide to Graduate Departments of Sociology
Latest Ed. in Perkins Ref. HM577 .G853
This work describes 216 American, 24 Canadian, and 12 foreign graduate sociology departments. In addition to information about degrees offered, tuition, and financial aid, most entries include lists of faculty members' area of specialization and information about PhDs awarded. In addition, the publication includes several useful indexes to special programs, faculty members, and PhDs awarded.

Urban and Regional Planning

Guide to Graduate Education in Urban and Regional Planning
Perkins Stacks HT167 .G84 1986
This guide offers an alphabetic listing of 88 schools with a master's degree or higher in urban and regional planning. Includes admissions requirements, enrollments, information on faculty, tuition and fees, and areas of specialization.

Women's Studies

Directory of Women's Studies Programs & Library Resources
Perkins Stacks 305.4071173 D598 1989
A directory of 413 educational institutions which offer five or more courses in Women's Studies. Listing includes faculty, courses and degrees offered, contact persons, and library support services. On pages 109-116 there is a "Women's Studies Credentials Index" which facilitates locating graduate programs (MA/MS on p. 113, PhD on p. 115).

Guide to Graduate Work in Women's Studies
Perkins Stacks 305.4071173 G946, 1991
Profiles 69 institutions which offer women's studies programs. Includes information about graduate degrees offered in women's studies, the structure of the graduate program, departments where graduate work in women's studies is encouraged, number of graduate courses solely in women's studies, selected women's studies courses, strengths of each program, financial aid information, and core and affiliate faculty.