Duke Libraries

Ask us now

History of Durham

Guides

 

Hand-book of Durham, North Carolina: a Brief and Accurate Description of a Prosperous and Growing Southern Manufacturing Town. Durham: The Educator Company, 1895.
Contains descriptions of businesses, personalities and buildings. Photographs, sketches of Durham sites, and advertisements are included.
Special Collections C Pam H336DU. Also University Archives 975.656 E24H.

Ramsey, N.A. Durham Almanac. Raleigh: [n.d.]
Contains historical and statistical information about Durham, a governmental directory, and advertisements.
Special Collections has 1895, 1896, and 1897.

Souvenir of Durham North Carolina. 1902.
A guide to the town with photos of prominent buildings. The next two works are very similar to this one.
Special Collections Oblong S729D.

Greater Durham in 1904-05: a city of many industries, the tobacco center of the world. Durham: Seeman Printery, 1905.
Special Collections Pam Coll 41773.

Greater Durham Chamber of Commerce. Durham, North Carolina: Thirty Years Ago an Insignificant Village With a Population of Some Five Hundred. Today a City of Twenty Thousand Inhabitants... Durham: Seeman Printery, 1906.
Special Collections C-Pam D961DU.

Durham Illustrated: Containing a Comprehensive Review of the Natural Advantages and Resources of Durham .... Durham: Published under authority, The Merchants Association, printed by Seeman Printery, 1910.
Detailed description of Durham's businesses and industries. Biographical information on prominent townspeople. Period photographs of the town.
Special Collections E Pam 1 f#16.

Upchurch, William Merriman. Durham County, Economic and Social. Durham: Seeman Printery, 1918.
Natural resources, farm conditions, education and marketing in 1917.
F262.D8 U7 1918. Also Special Collections E #5970 and E Pam #4249.

Durham, N.C. Chamber of Commerce. Durham, North Carolina: A Center of Industry and Education. 1930.
Includes statistical information, many photographs, a history of Durham and projections of future developments.
Special Collections E Pam #4495.

Newcomers Handbook of Durham for 1929. Durham: 1929.
A snapshot of Durham's institutions in 1929. Includes photos and advertisements.
Archives 975.641 D961PT.

Lemert, Benjamin Franklin. Durham, North Carolina: an Economic Survey. Durham: B. F. Lemert, 1938.
Economic and social conditions of Durham in 1938 by a Duke professor of economics. Exceptionally complete and detailed information.
Special Collections Library Service Center 330.975656 L552D.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified July 6, 2009 12:03:52 PM EDT