Web Site Search

Ask us now

History of Durham

History of Durham, NC

Carson Holloway

Carson Holloway, Subject Librarian

Lilly Library | carson.holloway@duke.edu | 919.660.5997

  


A Bibliography

Resources below are arranged in chronological order.

Paul, Hiram Voss. History of the Town of Durham, N.C. .... Raleigh: Edwards, Broughton & Co., printers, 1884.
Early history and description of Durham and the tobacco industry. Contains biographical sketches of leading businesspeople and a business directory.
975.656 P324HA. Also Special Collections E P324H.

Boyd, William Kenneth. The Story of Durham: City of the New South. Durham: Duke University Press, 1925.
Classic history of Durham by a Duke history professor.
975.641 B789S. Also Perkins Reference F264.D9 B8 1925 ; Archives 975.641 D961B; Special Collections Reference 975.656 B789S; Medical Center F264.D9 B69s 1925a.

Dula, W.C. and A.C. Simpson. Durham and Her People: Combining History and Who's Who in Durham of 1949 and 1950. Durham: Citizens Press, 1951.
History of Durham from 1885-1950, including photographs and a detailed index.
975.641 D878D. Also Special Collections Reference 975.641 D878 D961 1951.

Kostyu, Joel A. and Frank A. Kostyu. Durham: a Pictorial History. Norfolk, Va.: Donning, 1978.
Over 350 photographs of Durham past and present.
975.6563 K86D. Also Archives 975.6563 K86 D961 1978.

Roberts, Claudia P. The Durham Architectural and Historic Inventory. Durham: City of Durham, 1982.
An excellent building-by-building history of Durham and of its architecture. Thoroughly indexed.
Perkins Reference F255 .B769 1982 . Also Archives 720.9756563 D961 R643 1982; Lilly 720.9756563 D961 R643 1982; Lilly Ready Reference 720.9756563 D961 R643 1982.

Anderson, Jean Bradley. Durham County. Durham: Duke University Press, 1990.
History of the county and city from the 1740s to the 1980s. This is the most recent thorough history of the county.
975.6563 A547 D961 1990. Also Perkins Reference F262.D8 A63 1991 and Lilly Ready Reference 975.6563 A547 D961 1990.

Wise, James E. Durham; A Bull City Story. Charleston: Arcadia, 2002.
The history of Durham from its beginning to the 1990s, told through stories and first-hand accounts.
975.6563 W812 D961 2002. Also Perkins Reference F264.D9 W58 2002 .