The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library has many other useful sources of historical information. Ask the library staff there for assistance. See also:
Davis, Richard C. and Linda Angle Miller, eds. Guide to the Cataloged Collections in the Manuscript Department of the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio Books, 1980.
Perkins Reference Desk Z106.5.U62 N838 . Also Archives (Library Service Center); Lilly Reference Z106.5.U62 N838 1980; Special Collections Reference 016.091 D877 G946 1980; Law Z106 .D84 1980; Medical Center Hist Ref Reading Room Z6621 D88g 1980.
There are four major collections of Durham photographs that are housed in Special Collections:
|Alvin T. Parnell Papers||Durham Postcards|
|Durham Chamber of Commerce Collection||Wyatt Dixon Papers|
The Public Documents and Maps Department in Perkins Library has local, state, and regional maps. The call number for Durham County maps is G3903 .D8 and the call number for Durham city maps is G3904 .D9. U.S. Census materials for North Carolina are also housed in this department. Ask the staff of the department for assistance in using the collection. See also:
Lemert, Ben F. Economic maps of Durham, North Carolina. North Carolina?: 1938.
The maps in this collection show Durham in the late 1930s.
330.9756 D961L. Also Maps (flat atlas section) HC108.D87 L464 1938; Special Collections Map S-19.
Well & Brinkley Engineers. Map of Durham County, North Carolina. Rocky Mount : Wells & Brinkley for Commissioners of Durham County, N.C., 1920.
This map shows the locations of houses, churches, schools, townships, and school districts in Durham County. A second map shows the town of Durham.
Maps G3903 .D8 1920 .W4. Also Special Collections Map MA-2.
The library has a large collection of pamphlets about Durham. A section of the card catalog entitled "Special Catalogs" is located at the end of the Subject Catalog. "Special Catalogs" includes a catalog of pamphlets subdivided by state. Each state drawer is arranged alphabetically by author. Browsing through these cards for pamphlets on Durham should provide additional sources of historical information.
Duke University Archives keeps information specifically about the Duke family and Duke University. Further information about Durham may be found in other libraries in the area. The Durham County Public Library has an extensive historical collection which includes the Durham historical photographic archives.
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill also has a North Carolina Collection in its Wilson Library. One interesting collection there is the North Carolina County Collection of the Photographic Archives. The collection is organized by county and Durham County is included.
City and county government offices are often good sources of information. You may also wish to contact the Historic Preservation Society of Durham.
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.