Web Site Search

Ask us now

History (General)

Reference

Online

History Reference Online
Full text of 404 reference books from ABC CLIO.

 Oxford Reference Online: History
Provides access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works published by Oxford University Press in the area of History.

 Blackwell Reference Online (History)
Includes 31 Blackwell Companions on historical subjects.

 Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographical essays on 55,000 deceased British people, including the colonies and people who lived in Britain.  Includes sources and location of papers. 

American National Biography
A major biographical resource for American history, the ANB details the lives of nearly 18,000 men and women from all walks of American life. All entries are no longer alive.

World Biographical Information System
Contains biographical information on over 3.8 million people worldwide, from the 4th century BC to present. Duke owns the microfiche which go with the index.

Print Reference works

There are too many print reference works  to list individually, but there are several ways to find them.  

  • You can  search on the online catalog, limiting your search to the Perkins Reference Collection, using keywords such as "Mexico History".  
  • Many of the subject guides have lists of print Reference works. 
  • You can browse in the Perkins or Lilly reference stacks under the following LC numbers:
  • D History General
  • DA History of Great Britain - History of Ireland - History of the British Isles
  • DAW History of Central Europe  
  • DB History of Austria - Liechtenstein - Hungary - Czechoslovakia
  • DC History of France - Andorra - Monaco
  • DD History of Germany
  • DE History of the Greco-Roman World
  • DF History of Greece
  • DG History of Italy - Malta
  • DH History of Low Countries - Benelux Countries
  • DJ History of the Netherlands (Holland)
  • DJK History of Eastern Europe (General)   
  • DK History of Russia; Soviet Union; Former Soviet Republics - History of Poland
  • DL History of Northern Europe; Scandinavia
  • DP History of Spain - Portugal
  • DQ History of Switzerland
  • DR History of the Balkan Peninsula
  • DS History of Asia
  • DT History of Africa
  • DU History of Oceania (South Seas)
  • DX History of Gypsies
  • E History of America
  • F History of United States, Canada, and British, Dutch, French and Latin America