Especially appropriate for the history of specific fields of science and technology is the ongoing series:
Bibliographies of the history of science and technology. New York : Garland, 1982-
Each volume has a separate call number; they can all be found by searching for the series title in the online catalog.
The most important ongoing AND retrospective bibliography for the historian of science is in:
ISIS. Philadelphia [etc.] Publication and Editorial Office, Dept. of History and Sociology of Science, University of Pennsylvania [etc.] (1913-) Periodicals I81
Each year a separate number of the journal is titled "Critical Bibliography of the history of science and its cultural influences." Included are critical annotations for current periodical articles, books and parts of books covering all time periods, geographical locations and subjects within the sciences. A list of book reviews and an author index appear at the end of the issue. Technology is not emphasized.
These bibliographies have been merged for the various years into a separate multivolume publication, the most current being:
ISIS Cumulative Bibliography: A Bibliography of the History of Science Formed from ISIS Critical Bibliographies. Canton, MA: Published for the History of Science Society by Science History Publications/USA. Ref. q016.509 I81
At present, the cumulative bibliographies are arranged for 4 time periods: 1913-1965, 1966-1975, 1976-1985, 1986-1995.
A comparable arrangement exists for bibliographical control of the literature of the history of technology. The "Current Bibliography in the history of technology" has appeared annually in the April issue of the journal:
Technology and Culture. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press [etc.] Periodicals T255C
This bibliography began with the 1964 volume. Published by the Society for the History of Technology, the bibliography parallels, in content and arrangement the ISIS bibliography - except that the former also contains a subject index. Somewhat parallel to the ISIS cumulated bibliography are:
An Annotated Index to Volumes 1 Through 10 of Technology and Culture, 1959-1969. Chicago, IL: The University of Chicago Press for The Society for the History of Technology, 1976. Periodicals T255C
Also available online 1998- (check the online catalog)
Other bibliographical materials:
Bulletin Signaletique 522: Histoire des Sciences des Techniques. Paris: Centre de documentation sciences humaines, 1969-1990. 500 B936
This bibliography has undergone several title changes; if you need help in determining its earlier titles, consult a Reference librarian.
Ferguson, E. S. Bibliography of the History of Technology. Cambridge, MA: Society for the History of Technology, 1968. 609 S678M no. 5
This bibliography includes primary and secondary sources and it features many general guides and reference sources, as well as a chapter which lists books, articles and bibliographies in specific subject fields. It contains critical annotations, some lengthy. A major aim of the compiler is to lead researchers to further sources.
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.