Duke Libraries

Ask us now

History of Science and Technology

Guides to the Literature

Sarton, George. A Guide to the History of Science. Waltham, MA: Chronica Botanica Co., 1952. 509 S251G; Also B-F, Med Center
Now unfortunately dated, this landmark work is still useful as an introduction. Part I is introductory essays and Part II is an introductory bibliography, with sections on historical methods, historical tables and summaries, atlases, gazetteers, encyclopedias, and biographical collections.
Much of the material in A Guide to the History of Science can be updated by:

Corsi, Pietro and Paul Weindling (eds.) Information Sources in the History of Science and Medicine. London; Boston: Butterworth Scientific, 1983. 609 I43 1983; Also Med Center 
"The aim of the present survey of literature, methods and concepts is to provide a series of succinct assessments of important areas of the history of science and medicine." (preface)
General essays consider the development and main features of these histories and relate them to associated disciplines such as anthropology, religion, and the social sciences. The next section deals with general literature and major institutions and it includes an outline of research methods. Next are essays on historical treatments of individual sciences and scientific instruments. Non-European science receives more than usual attention, especially in the final portion of the guides; emphasis is on American, Indian, African, Islamic, and Chinese cultures. Each chapter concludes with an extensive, up-to-date bibliography, and there is a separate list of appropriate journals. Especially useful are the chapters "Guide to Bibliographical Sources," which ends with a recent, extensive, and valuable bibliography, and "Periodical Literature and Societies."

New, John. "The History of Science". Library Trends, April 1967, p 776-792. Periodicals L697T
also reprinted in: Downs, R. B. (ed.) Bibliography: Current State and Future Trends. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1967. z016 D751B
Although this work too is now somewhat dated, it remains an excellent introduction to the reference literature on the history of science. It is a relatively concise bibliographical essay on the subject. Other such essays in the collection feature the literature of mathematics, physics, geology, chemistry, medicine, engineering, agriculture and general science. The historical literature is emphasized in all of the essays except the one for physics. A new edition of this work is in the planning stage.

Russo, Francois. Elements de Bibliographie de l'histoire des sciences et des techniques. Paris: Hermann, 1969. 
z509 R969E

These listings, "subdivided topically and chronologically, can still be of use to readers wishing to acquire basic bibliography on major topics and figures in the history of science and technology" (Russo, p. 138)

Some other guides which can be useful are:

Durbin, Paul T. A Guide to the Culture of Science, Technology, and Medicine. New York: Free Press, c1980
301.243 G946; Also Med Center
(1984)
"Possible users of this volume, it was assumed from the outset, should include scholars in neighboring fields - philosophers of science, for instance. However, members of the technical community and the interested educated public ought also to be interested...More than anything else, the volume should be useful to teachers of interdisciplinary courses in technology and values or science and society...We have tried to gather as many materials from innumerable and disparate sources as we could, discussing them explicitly, commenting on them in bibliographic essays or, at the very least, listing them in bibliographies that attempt to balance comprehensiveness with utility". (preface)
Two chapters in Part I, "History of Science" and "History of Technology", are particularly relevant; other chapters should be of considerable interest.

Jayawardene, S. A. Reference Books for the Historian of Science: A Handlist. London Science Museum, 1982. 
Ref. 016.0165 J42 R332 1982

More than 1,000 titles make up this "handy list" of "general reference books which the historian of science frequently needs in the course of his studies". The book covers a wide range of subjects, time periods, types of materials and formats. Publications listed here will lead to further useful references. Included are an author/title index and subject indexes.

Knight, D. M. Sources for the History of Science, 1660-1914. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1975. 
509 K69NC

This book is neither a history of science nor a guide to printed reference sources as such, but a narrative guide to basic source materials in manuscripts, journals, books and surviving physical objects. Emphasis is on the history of science in Europe, especially Great Britain.

Other guides:

For recent, well-organized and annotated lists of all types of reference materials that deal with the history of science and of separate sciences (and that can serve as brief guides to the literature), consult the appropriate sections of:

Malinowsky, H. Robert . Reference Sources in Science, Engineering, Medicine, and Agriculture. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1994.  Vesic Ref. 026 .6 M251, R332, 1994; Also Med Center Ref

Sheehy, Eugene. Guide to Reference Books. 11th ed. (1996) and supplement Chicago: American Library Association, 1986,1992) Ref. Desk q011.02 G946 1996; Also in Law, Fuqua, Med, Lilly, and Div. Sch.

Walford, A. J. Walford's Guide to Reference Material. (8th ed.) Vol. 1: Science and Technology. London: Library Association Publishing, 1999. Ref. Desk 011.02 W174, 1999

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified February 9, 2009 9:36:51 AM EST