Web Site Search

Ask us now

Iberian Studies

Articles & Databases

Duke Users Only

Political Cartoon

From "La Flaca," 1872, found in the Duke Libraries Special Collection.

¡Informe! (Revistas en Español)

A multi-subject collection of Spanish language, general interest magazines and scholarly journals that provides access to the full-text of more than 300 periodicals. Coverage is from 1994 onward.

Literature Resource Center

Especially useful for undergraduates, this database provides access to full-text biographical, bibliographical, and critical analytic resources mainly from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism. It includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism. It is relevant for major authors.

Public Resources

Bases de Datos Bibliográficas del CSIC

The CSIC (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas) is the main research body in Spain . This web site provides access to CSIC's free databases containing bibliographic information about Spanish scientific production since the 70's.

Compludoc 

Developed by the Universidad Complutense in Spain, the database indexes more than 4,000 journals and provides bibliographic information for more than 3 million articles mainly published in Spain but also published in other countries. 

Dialnet

Compiled and maintained by the University of la Rioja in Spain, the database offers bibliographic information for more than 3,000 journals and one million documents (mainly published in Spain and Latin America). It provides full-text access to some articles and dissertations.

Google Book Search

This is a database that allows you to search the full text of books. All the works are searchable even if they are under copyright but only the full text of books that are in the public domain are freely accessible. For those under copyright, one can access only a partial view unless the publisher has authorized full access. A Spanish interface for Google Book Search is also available: Google Búsqueda de Libros

Hispanomedievalismo: Recursos en Linea (Literatura Medieval)

Compiles online resources such as full-text works, journals and related web resources specializing in Hispanic literature from the Middle Ages. 

MLA International Bibliography

Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It draws on scholarly research from over 3,000 journals and series, covering relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. It contains more than 1.4 million citations to published scholarly literature. Its coverage is from 1963 onward. Full-text is available for e-journals to which the library subscribes . Interface also available in Spanish.

El Poder de la Palabra - España

Web page devoted to major Spanish literary authors. Brief biographical information, excerpts from their texts and an interesting visual section including images throughout an author's career are included for each author. Part of El Poder de la Palabra web site.

RedALyC- Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal

 This is the Network of Scientific Journals of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal (RedALyC), coordinated by Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México. It provides open access to more than 300 scientific journals (over 45,000 articles) specializing in the social sciences and the humanities and organized by country and topic. It also includes journals about Latin America but published in other countries. Articles from RedALyC are now available in WorldCat.