Web Site Search

Ask us now

Iberian Studies

Digital Libraries & Archives

Political Cartoon

From "La Carcajada," 1872, found in Duke Libraries Special Collection.

Biblioteca Nacional de España

Official website of the National Library in Spain. It features a web page, Colecciones Digitales, where all its digital collections are highlighted including a digital collection of Spanish historical periodicals and newspapers, a collection of digitized materials in various formats, and a digital collection of Spanish literary classics.

Bibliotecas Españolas y de Todo el Mundo

This library directory is divided into two sections. The first one focuses on Spanish libraries and is organized alphabetically, by region or type of library and providing links to both library web sites and online catalogs. The second section is devoted to libraries worldwide, and includes links to national libraries and national and international library directories. 

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes

This is the most comprehensive hispanic digital library available. It preserves and makes accessible hispanic cultural heritage available in various formats including: portals organized by topic, author, institution, and historic figure. It offers two extensive sections devoted to Hispanic Language and Literature. It also features Bibliotecas del Mundo, an extensive subject directory of selected links focusing on hispanic studies and related issues.

Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Histórica

Developed by the Spanish Ministry of Culture, this is a cooperative digital library that provides access to bibliographic materials from state public  libraries and other cultural institutions in Spain. The documents included are fully searchable and available as reproductions of the originals. Interface available in English, Spanish and other languages in Spain.

Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio Bibliográfico

The Virtual Library of Bibliographical Heritage is a cooperative project of the Ministry of Culture and the Autonomous Regions, which aims to distribute printed books and manuscripts from Spain's Historical Heritage by digital facsimile. Interface available in English, Spanish and other languages in Spain.

Directorio y Recolector de Recursos Digitales

This web site presents two useful resources: an extensive directory of digital projects created in Spain and a search tool known as "Recolector" that allows the researcher to search for any digitized document available in any of the digital projects included in the directory. Interface available in English, Spanish and other lanuages.

Hemeroteca Digital

Digital collection of Spanish periodicals and newspapers created by the National Library of Spain. It includes a wide variety of publications, ranging from 1772 to 1933. Fully searchable full text is available in PDF.

Ibero-American Electronic Text Series

This digital library is from the University of Wisconsin-Madison devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the humanities. Currently, the series holds35 titles in Spanish from Latin America and Spain that span the medieval to contemporary period.

PARES - Portal de Archivos Españoles

PARES contians both digital images of documents and citations to items in Spanish archives.