Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Library Information

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
Located in Chicago, it has functioned as a library's library, and has long runs of some core materials:  Diet proceedings, committee reports 1912-26, Annual reports of Japanese companies (Eigyō hōkokusho shūsei, 1899-1945), Diet records (1912-26, 1947-72), Meiji educational statistics, Meiji-Taishō-Shōwa prefectural statistics, labor movements (1920-34), periodicals in science & technology. Has complete runs of the Japan Times and the Asahi shinbun. Not all collections are accessible through their online catalog, but there is a special guide to East Asian Materials. Materials may be borrowed for as long as needed; Duke is a member. Non-members can borrow a limited number of items per year.

Council on East Asian Libraries  (CEAL)
The organization for East Asian librarians in North America affiliated with the Association for Asian Studies. The website includes information on CEAL membership, the annual meeting, CEAL publications, eastlib (the East Asian librarians' listserv) and CEAL committees. Provides directory of members, a statistical database for holdings and expenditures for East Asian libraries.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources (NCC)
Founded in 1992, the NCC coordinates, develops and locates funding for projects in cooperative Japanese collection development; its goals are to improve access to Japanese information, further training and education in Japanese librarianship, articulate the needs of librarians, scholars, and others in relation to information sources; and to expand the work of advising and collaborating with funding agencies in developing relevant and valuable programs. It's membership includes faculty and librarians interested in Japanese information.

National Institute of Informatics (NII)
Formerly known as NACSIS, the National Institute of Informatics is an inter-university research institute established in April 2000. NII conducts research of informatics as well as the development of infrastructures and services of advanced academic information distribution.  Provides 44 databases for overseas users in a variety of disciplines, mostly in Japanese with some English. 

Interlibrary Loan: GIF (Global ILL Framework)
International interlibrary loan with Japan is now routine for many libraries; please contact your Japanese Studies librarian, if you need materials from Japan.  If you are not at a major collection, please contact the North American Coordinating Council for Japanese Library Resources (NCC) for information on how your library can participate. 


Last modified November 9, 2007 6:34:26 PM EST

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870