Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

More than 100,000

Collections of Notable Strength

The major Japanese language collections are broad in scope, with special areas of depth, and the mid-sized collections have materials not held elsewhere, often collected around faculty interests and connections.

Collection Notes
Berkeley Literature, history, labor economics. Special collections: Mitsui [2,500 early Japanese woodblock printed maps; 7,000 Japanese manuscripts; the Doi Gakken collection (Chinese poetry and prose by Japanese authors published since 1868) the Soshin and Motoori collections (xylographic editions of Tokugawa and early Meiji) and the kihon section (pre-WWII publications)], Murakami (Meiji books) and Ho-Chiang (Buddhist scriptures). Japanese Government document depository.
British Columbia History, literature, Japanese statistics and economy, Buddhist studies. Special collections: Japanese government publications, George H. Beans Collection of Japanese Maps, history of Japanese immigrants in Canada
Chicago Literature, history, art, religion, sinology, Okinawa (Ryūkyū's), social sciences, Japanese-American studies, gender studies, serials, statistics, company histories.
Columbia Literature, history, philosophy and religion, especially Buddhism, fine and performing arts, business and economics. 600 woodblock printed books; 300 scrolls, letters and manuscripts by twentieth-century authors; separate Law Library.
Cornell Proletarian literature, society; Griffis collection 18-19 century; Popular culture--especially film, food and manga
Harvard-Yenching History, literature and Japan's modern and postwar political, social, and economic development. Japanese Sinology. Maruzen Meiji microfilm, separate law library. 14,000 rare books, 480 scrolls including 400 Buddhist scrolls collected by Bruno Petzold.
Hawaii Literature, languages, Buddhism, art, history, women, cultural studies. Special Collections: Sakamaki/Hawley (Ryūkyū-Okinawa Resources), Nan'yō, Kajiyama Toshiyuki (Japan-Korea relations, Japanese emigration), Takazawa Koji (postwar socialists' movement), Satsuma, Hokkaido.
Library of Congress Comprehensive; exchange agreement w/ Diet library; S. Manchurian RR, Buddhism, microfilm of Foreign Office, Army and Navy ministries 1868-1945; prewar Japanese-American newspapers.
Michigan Folk drama, local history, literature, Diet, prewar
Ohio State Company histories, history of agriculture, science & technology; linguistics, language teaching, literature (esp. Meiji), poetry, Okinawa culture, Saitama, psychology journals, manga
Pittsburgh
Japanese theater, medical history, modern Japanese art history
Princeton History (especially premodern and Meiji) & literature, sinology.
Stanford Social sciences, left-wing, right-wing; Korea 1894 1901; 18-19th century ehon (travel guides)
Toronto Humanities, social and political sciences, modern Japanese literature
UCLA Buddhism, art, history, literature (esp. pre-modern literary criticism), modern intellectual history, women, cultural studies. Special collections: Toganoo --Esoteric Buddhism (books and manuscripts), Julian Wright- illustrated books, Jansen - Edo/Meiji history, old maps, history of medicine, and Japanese in the U.S. (archives).
Washington Art, political economy, literature@atomic bomb, women, left-wing, Butow papers, separate law library.
Yale Literature, language and linguistics, Buddhism, history of art, history (institutional development and local); contemporary society, economics.

Last modified November 13, 2007 11:59:36 PM EST

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870