Nihon shuyō chizu shusei : Meiji kara gendai made
Nihon Kokusai Chizu Gakkai hen.
EAC: GA1241.A12 N53 1995
This collection illustrates the range of maps published since early Meiji. It also provides an extensive listing of maps published in Japan, arranged by publisher, date and format, a bibliography, definitions of map terms and symbols and a chronology of Japanese cartography dating back to 1600.
"Cartography in Japan"
by Unno Kazutaka
in Cartography in the Traditional East and Southeast Asian Societies,
The History of Cartography
PL: GA201 .H53 1987 vol. 2
Material presented covers the period from ancient times to the early Meiji years. Includes 75 maps.
The National Atlas of Japan
Perkins Ref: G2355 .K63 1990
The latest edition is in Perkins Reference, while an earlier 1977 edition is located in the Perkins/Bostock stacks. Includes maps related to climate, population, industry, and other themes.
Nihon bunken chizu chimei sōran
EA Ref: G2355 .J56 2003
We have several editions of this serial. The latest 2003 edition is located in East Asian Reference, and the earlier 1993, 1975, and 1966 editions can be found in the East Asian collection.
Nihon Gengo Chizu
日本言語地図 , 6 vols.
EAC Oversize: G2356 .E3 K6 1966
A linguistic atlas of Japan.
Atlases published by Kashiwa Shobo
Publisher of several notable historical and regional atlases. Duke holds volumes covering Meiji/ Taishō/ Shōwa periods, as well as regional atlases for Korea, China/Manchuria and specific areas within Japan. The link contains information for 9 atlases.
Nihon rekishi chizu = The Historical Atlas of Japan
EA Ref: G2356.S1 N5 1982
Two volumes covering historical maps, illustrations and comments on ancient Japan. Arranged by themes within time periods. An index of kanji strokes is included.
Nihon toshi sensai chizu
EA Ref Folio: D767.2 .N54 1983
World War, 1933-1945--Japan--Maps. War damage to buildings--Japan--Maps. Cities and towns--Japan--Maps.
Nihon zushi taikei
EA Ref: G2356 .B5 N5 1972
12 volumes covering surveys, maps, local history and description. Time period ranges from Meiji to the late 1970's.
Old Maps in Japan
Osaka: Sōgensha, 1973
Older maps primarily from the Nanba Matsutaro (macron) collection, one of the largest in Japan. Arranged under the 68 provinces and then in chronological order, with names of their owners.
Not held at Duke; held at UNC Chapel Hill Library, Call No. G2355 .N3313, located in the Maps Collection.
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.