Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Gazetteers

Readings for Place Names
Rabbit Crest

Japanese Names: A Comprehensive Index by Characters and Readings
EAC: CS3000 .O53 1972
Includes both personal and place names. Arranged by Chinese characters with an index by readings. Lacks links to physical maps to confirm readings for particular locations.

New Index Gazetteer of Japan
新日本地名索引 3v.
EA Ref: DS805 .K33 1993.
Based on current 1:25,000 maps. Includes over 1 million place names. Volume One is arranged by reading (gojuon); Volumes Two and Three are arranged by Chinese characters.

Kadokawa Nihon chimei jiten
角川日本地名辞典
47 v.
EA Ref: DS805 .K27 1978
Arranged by prefecture; gojuon order within prefecture.  Each volume is divided into four parts: general introduction, dictionary of place names, a geographical arrangement of cities, and other supplementary information.  No comphrensive index..

Kodai chimei daijiten 2 v.
古代地名大辞典, 本編, 索引・資料編

EA Ref: DS805 .K62 1999
Updates the Kadokawa Nihon chimei jiten with new research.  Covers the period to 1185.

Land Japonica
日本地名大百科:ランドジャポニカ
EA Ref: DS805 .N536 1996
An illustrated dictionary of Japanese place names. Each entry includes historical, geographical, industrial information as well as information on railroad stations, documents, famous temples and products. Includes some maps, photographs and illustrations. Index includes information on rail lines, ports, elevated highways, national parks and cultural treasures (by prefecture). There is also an index of hard-to-read names by number of strokes.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified September 11, 2007 10:00:47 PM EDT