Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Name Dictionaries

Useful Databases
Rabbit Crest

Jim Breen's WWWJDIC Japanese Dictionary Server
Also available by ftp 

Kinsei Kijinden: Sei and Zoku
Digitized full text and prints of kinsei kijinden available through Nichibunken Databases.

NACSIS Webcat

NDL-OPAC

Waseda Library Catalog 

WorldCat

Specialized Resources

A Dictionary of Trade Names 
英和商品名辞典
EA Ref: HD69.B7 Y363 1990

NDL Name Authority List
国立国会図書館著者名典拠録。明治以降日本人名 5 v. + index

EA Ref: Z695.1.P4 K64 1991
Name authority list for the National Diet Library from 1868-1991. Includes the reading of the name in Japanese for over 200,000 authors, their dates, profession or affiliation, title of book, sources for establishing authority.

Reading Japanese Names

Japanese Names: A Comprehensive Index by Characters and Readings
EAC: CS3000 .O53 1972
A useful guide for making educated guesses for the readings of Japanese names.

Japanese, Chinese, and Korean surnames and how to read them : 125,947 Japanese, 594 Chinese, and 259 Korean surnames written with Kanji as they appear in Japanese texts.
2 vols in 3.
EA Ref: PL683 .H33 1998.

Rekishi jinmei yomikata jiten
歴史人名よみがた辞典

EA Ref: DS834 .R44 1989
Historical personages to 1868. Listed by the pronunciation of the first character in the name. Romanization, year of birth/death, and other supplementary information given.

Nihon Jinmei Jiten
日本人名辞典

EAC: DS834.8 .H3 1972
Useful for looking up people who are remembered by their given names, studio names or pseudonyms rather than surname.  Also for identifying first names such as nanori (名乗), tsusho (通称), gago (雅号), and geimei (芸名). Arranged by Japanese syllabary, with a stroke index.  Readings given in prewar kana orthography.

Sakka no pennemu jiten
作家のペンネーム辞典

EA Ref: Z1087.J3 S24 1990
Covers 235 authors (novelists, poets, critics) in the literary arts. Provides biographical data, lists of major works and collections and a photograph. Arranged by author's last name.

同姓異読み人名辞典 = A Dictionary of Famous Japanese People with the Same Written Surname
EA Ref: CS3000 .D67 1988
Contains 32,000 individuals whose family name has the same characters, but a different reading.

同名異人辞典 = Dictionary of famous Japanese people with the same written names
EA Ref: DS834 .D664 1988  

名前から引く人名辞典 = First Name Dictionary of Japanese Famous People
EA Ref: CT1832 .N35 1988
Includes given name, posthumous name, stage name and pseudonym.

Shintei zōho go, betsumei jiten
新訂増補号別名辞典

Anonyms and pseudonyms, Japanese.


Last modified August 10, 2007 4:48:32 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870