Web Site Search

Link to Ask Us page
Doing Fieldwork in Japan
Orange Blossom Crest

Doing Fieldwork in Japan
Reviewed in Journal of Japanese Studies, 31, no. 1, Winter 2005.
Organized into four sections: "Starting out," "Navigating bureaucratic mazes," "Asking: surveys, interviews, access," and "Outsiders in insiders' networks." Covers experiences in arranging introductions and affiliations, in gaining access and acceptance, in struggling with language learning and use....

Useful Resource

Tokyo Archives and Research Trips
by Steve Clarke, Yale University
This guide, done by a Japanese literature scholar, should also prove useful to scholars looking for research materials in other fields.

H.D. Smith: Doing Research in Japan
While composed in 1995, much remains the same. The advice on the value of connections and introductions and seeking advice from friends remains true. Most of what has changed is that more is available electronically and this has streamlined access to some materials.

Japanese Studies

Doing Research in Japan

Using Libraries

Toshokan ni kike ! / Inoue Makoto.
図書館に訊け ! / 井上真琴.
EA Ref and PL Reserves: Z710 .I66 2004

"Selected Libraries in Japan," part IV of A Guide to Reference Books for Japanese Studies, 1997.
EA Ref: DS806 .G85 1997
Provides a brief description including speciality, hours, what is needed to get in (and cost), address and phone number.

Jinbutsu kinenkan jiten
人物記念館事典

EA Ref: AM77 .A2 S556 2002 
Organized by focus (v.1-literature and history, v.2-art) and then region. After a description of its collections, and its exhibitions, it lists publications and basic information (phone, fax, url, e-mail, entrance fees, holidays).

Rekishi hakubutsukan jiten
歴史博物館事典
EA Ref: AM77 .A2 R45 1999 
A directory for museums of historical collections in Japan.

Japan Art Documentation Society http://www.jads.org/pub/kikan/index.html
Includes links to art libraries and museums.

Life in Japan

Counseling and Support   http://www.counselingjapan.com/index_eng.php
A page put together by a clinical psychologist working in Tokyo at the Ikebukuro Counseling Center and Hozumi Clinic. Its a 'bi-lingual' page and its main aims are to give information on counseling, online support and mental health care available in Japan and to provide a forum where anyone experiencing emotional challenges can communicate their feelings and get support. 

Know Before you Go   http://thejapanfaq.cjb.net/
Provides information for people going to Japan, on visas, apartment-hunting, customs, mail, banking, transportation, etc. See also Japanese Manners and Etiquette.