Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Search Tips

Key Databases
Crane Crest

Bibliography for Asian Studies
Indexes scholarly literature on East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Use "Advanced Search".

Bookplus
Bookplus indexes over 1,740,000 books. published in Japan from 1926 to the present.

JuNii+
Searches Institutional Repositories (book, conference proceedings, journal article, preprints, research reports, theses) created by Japanese universities using keywords.

MagazinePlus
Indexes 14,000 periodicals published in Japan after World War II and 6000 volumes of collected works.

NDL-OPAC 
The online catalog for the National Diet Library and Zasshi kiji sakuin.

PORTA
NDL's search engine for digital materials; provides several search functions.

WebCat Plus
A union catalog of the holdings of Japanese academic institutions with about 2.5 million titles.

WorldCat
A union catalog of the holdings of many academic and public libraries worldwide with more than 40 million records.


Finding Materials in Western Languages

Duke libraries provide various tips on searching for books, articles, images, and other materials.


Finding Materials in the Japanese Language

Japanese has a built in adjacency function; characters placed together without a space will be searched as a compound phrase (e.g. 戦争責任). Words separated by a space can be combined by "AND", or used as alternate search terms when いずれかを含む is selected (e.g. 内閣 政権 国会 政治).

Search tips for finding books and journals in Duke's online catalog. 

These are useful guides for searching specific Japanese databases:

  • MagazinePlus Guide  http://library.duke.edu/research/help/databases/guides/magazineplus.html
  • NACSIS WebCat Guide (a PDF by Sharon Domier) http://library.duke.edu/research/subject/guides/files/japan/nacsis.pdf
  • NDL Web-OPAC Guide (a PDF by Sharon Domier) http://www.library.umass.edu/subject/easian/askeasl/NDLSearching.pdf

Romanization of Japanese

There are two primary systems used for romanizing Japanese: Hepburn and Kunrei. Libraries in the United States and Canada use Hepburn, while Kunrei is the official Japanese system.

  • Some Notes on Rōmazi  (Marshall Unger)  http://www.cityfujisawa.ne.jp/%7Eroomazi/Eigo/unger.html
    details the history and differences between Hepburn and Kunrei.
  • Japanese Romanization Tablehttp://www.library.ucla.edu/libraries/eastasian/jpntable.htm
    provides Hepburn romanization for Japanese; the explanations at the bottom of the page are written in Japanese.
  • A Guide for Researchers (Sharon Domier) http://www.library.umass.edu/subject/easian/askeasl/JpnILLquick.pdf
    This PDF guide details what the standard elements to include in an interlibrary loan request and explains the standard format for romanization/transliteration, including a brief guide to word division.

Finding Grey Literature

"Grey literature" is difficult-to-obtain unpublished literature collected from both government and private sources.  These include policy studies and reports, white papers and annual reports, draft legislation, think-tank reports, public opinion polls, conference proceedings.

  • "Accessing Japanese Government Documents" http://www.fas.harvard.edu/%7Encc/workbook/pdf/accessinggovernmentdocuments.pdf
    A PDF by Tokiko Yamamoto Bazzell, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • "Using Grey Literature" http://www.fas.harvard.edu/%7Encc/workbook/pdf/greyliterature.pdf
    A PDF by Kazuko Sakaguchi, Documentation Center on Contemporary Japan, Harvard University
  • The Japan Documentation Center http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/asian/jdc.html
    JDC was established to collect current Japanese information on Japan's public policy. The database covers grey literature published from 1992 to 2000 only.

Last modified June 23, 2008 11:52:46 AM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870