Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Bibliographies for Japanese Books

For Further Research
Crane Crest

For additional book and article searches, see also:

Catalogs

General  -  Pre-Meiji  - Reference 

An Introductory Bibliography for Japanese Studies
EAC: DS806 .I57 1974
Bibliographical essays written in English by experts in the field that cover the humanities (Part I) and the social sciences (Part II) in alternating years.  While not cumulative, it's an excellent place to begin.

International Studies in Japan: A Bibliographic Guide 
EAC: DS881.96 .I58 1988
A compilation of post WW II Japanese scholarship in international studies, both historical and theoretical. Each section contains essays on significant works, research trends/debate, and is followed by a comprehensive bibliography. Originally published in Japanese in 1979, this is a revised English translation.

Nihon "Nikki" sōran : "Nikki" kara Nihonjin no seikatsu to rekishi o saguru
日本日記総覧:日記から日本人の生活と歴史を探る

EAC: PL771 .N53 1994
This book provides 2-page descriptions of 178 diaries written by authorities in the field. Each article is signed and includes a description of the author, the period covered, the contents, the condition of the original and information on any published copies. One page consists of selections from the diary which are then explained. Entries are by no means limited to literary diaries -- Hara Kei's and General Nogi's diaries are included. The diaries are arranged chronologically from ancient to the present, although women's diaries are considered a separate category. The introductory section has brief descriptions of commoner's diaries during the war, comparisons between diaries in the East and West, the psychology of diary writing, soldier's diaries from the Russo-Japanese war, postwar Japan through diaries and so on.

Tōyōgaku bunken ruimoku =Annual bibliography of Oriental studies
東洋学文献類目
(online version)
Earlier title: Tōyōshi kenkyū bunken ruimoku
EAC: Z3001 .K99
Duke holds 1970 to the present.
Online version can be searched by author or title.  The bibliography for Japanese research on China, Korea, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and South Asia.  Indexes journal articles and books in Chinese, Japanese, Korean and Western languages.  Includes book reviews. Author index.


Pre-Meiji

Kokusho Kihon Database http://www.nijl.ac.jp/contents/d_library/index.html
An online resource that includes both Kokusho sōmokuroku and Kotenseki sōgō mokuroku at the Kokubungaku Shiryōkan http://www.nijl.ac.jp/(National Institute of Japanese Literature http://www.nijl.ac.jp/e/) under Denshi Toshokan.  This database is encoded in Japanese Shift_JIS, and you need to register before using it.

  • Kokusho sōmokuroku
    国書総目録

    EAC: DS806 .I57 1974
    A union list of books authored by Japanese, published before 1867 and collected in 500 libraries. Includes 1.7 million titles. The books are arranged in gojuon order by title, and the last volume has an author index.
  • Kotenseki sōgō mokuroku
    国文学研究資料館古典籍総合目録

    EAC: Z3301 .K828 1990
    Succeeds the previous title and includes 10,000 additional works. Includes notation about format: hand-copied (写), printed book (活), mimeographed material and facsimile (復), variant edition (異本).

Reference

A Guide to Reference Books for Japanese Studies
日本研究のための参考図書
Compiled by International House of Japan Library/Kokusai Bunka Kaikan Toshoshitsu henshu.
EA Ref: DS806 .G85 1997
This has been used as a standard tool for research, a buying guide for collection development in libraries and a textbook in classrooms. It is divided into four sections: part I is a selective guide to reference tools in the English language, part II covers Japanese language reference tools, part III is a selected list of electronic resources including www sites, while part IV provides access information to 405 libraries in Japan.


Last modified October 5, 2007 11:19:52 AM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870