Electronic journal of contemporary Japanese studies
Foreign Press Center
The FPC was established in October 1976 as an independent, private and non-profit foundation with funds provided by the Japan Newspaper and Editors Association and the Keidanren (Japan Federation of Economic Organizations). It serves as an institution to support members of the foreign press in their work in Japan by helping them to overcome such barriers as differences in customs and language and to get "accurate information, gathered quickly and without waste."
Gaiko Forum
A monthly journal of foreign affairs supported by the Foreign Ministry, it has been published monthly since 1988 in Japanese; beginning in 2000 there is a semi-annual English edition which includes translations of articles previously published in Japanese. This site provides access to the tables of contents and to the full-text of some articles. A comprehensive index to all English issues and tables of content can be found here.
Japan Echo
Insights and analysis from the media; often consists of several articles on one topic translated from major Japanese journals. Edited by Sumiko Iwao.
Japan Focus Newsletter
Japan Focus presents writings about Japan, Japan in Asia and the world, as well as Japanese and international perspectives on contemporary Japanese politics, economics, society, and culture. It offers translations from Japanese, reprints of important English language texts, and Japan Focus originals. A subscription link to their weekly newsletter is available on the website.
Japan in the World
Independent critical views on Japanese, regional, and global politics, economy, society, and culture, voiced from a transnational civil society perspective. This site is run bySEKAI (The World), a Japanese monthly journal, and ICU Peace Research Institute (ICUPRI).The contents, unless indicated otherwise, are translations of the selected articles, originally published in SEKAI, which are edited or abridged.
Japan Today
News about Japan in English from Tokyo, covering politics, business, crime, sport, new products, technology, Internet, Asia, environment and weather. With analysis and commentary. Includes classified ads.
Metropolis
Tokyo city guide with movies, art, clubs, bars, TV, Japanese culture, food, cars, tech, new products and Internet, travel, shopping, style and fashion and community. Plus 1000's of classifieds and personals. Former name was Tokyo Classified.
Social Science Japan (Newsletter)
This provides full text of all articles. The newsletter provides concise information on key people, important issues, and recent developments in social science research on Japan. Authors are largely American and Japanese social scientists.
Tsūshin, Newsletter of the Edwin O. Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies, Harvard University
Published in English and Japanese. Includes full text of articles plus responses. Series are of particular note include: "From the Directors" "From the Documentation Center," and "Global Japan Studies."