Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Biographies of Artists

Related Links

English

Biographical dictionary of Japanese art
Lilly Reference: N7358 .B55 1981
Organized by type of art. Provides half page biographies of Japanese artists from all time periods, with names in Kanji and roman letters. Includes painting, calligraphy, sculpture, gardens, swords, tea ceremony and textiles.

A dictionary of Japanese artists : painting, sculpture, ceramics, prints, lacquer
Lilly Ref: N7358 .R6 1976
Organized alphabetically by artists' name. Includes an appendix of art organizations and institutions, a glossary, extensive bibliography, and a character index for names. Entries include brief bibliographical information.

Japanese

Bijutsu meiten Who's who in art
美術名典
[serial]
Lilly Ref: N7358 .B474
Next to latest in EA Ref.
Library has 1998

Bijutsuka meikan
美術家名鑑
[serial]
Lilly Ref: N7358 .B5   M512x; next to latest EA Ref.
Library has 1998 
An annual biographical listing of Japanese artists classified by type of craft.

Kindai Nihon bijutsu jiten
近代日本美術辞典

Lilly Ref: N7355 .K57, 1989
A biographical dictionary of modern Japanese artists from early Meiji to those born before 1930. 1,252 artists in paintings and sculpture are listed in gojuon order.

Ningen kokuhō jiten
人間国宝辞典
EA Ref: NK1071 .N498, 1998
Earlier edition also available through LSC: NK1071 .N498, 1996
Organized by craft. 

Nihon shashinka jiten : Tōkyō-to Shashin Bijutsukan shozō sakka
日本写真家事典:東京都写真美術館所蔵作家

EA Ref: TR139 .N54, 2000
Contains biographies, exhibition information and bibliographies of 328 photographers whose works are in the collections of Tōkyō-to Shashin Bijutsukan.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified April 17, 2009 2:14:53 PM EDT