Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Directories and Museum Guides

Online Directory
Whirl Crest

IFLA Directory of Art Libraries
This Directory provides information on nearly 3,000 libraries and library departments with specialized holdings in art, architecture, and archaeology throughout the world. Data includes address, telephone and tele-facsimile numbers, hours of operation, annual closings, and listings of professional personnel. It also includes electronic mail addresses of individual librarians and direct web links to institutional home pages. 

Visiting Arts regional profile : Asia Pacific arts directory
Lilly Reference: NX572 .D73 1996
This 3 volume set is an address/phone numbers/personnel directory for visual and performing arts agencies in coastal Asia and Australia. The directory covers cultural agencies which support the arts, performing arts groups and venues, museums and galleries, arts festivals, arts training, libraries, and foundations. There is an overview of the history of both visual and performing arts at the beginning of each section. Divided by region; volume 1 covers Oceania and Australia-New Zealand, vol. 2, Southeast Asia and vol. 3, China, Japan and Korea. Taiwan and North Korea are omitted. Two deficits are that most organizational names are given only in English, and that the geographical organization is done alphabetically by Japanese regional terms; hence Chubu, Chugoku-Shikoku, Hokkaido, Kanto, Kinki etc. There is no index. 

Roberts' guide to Japanese museums of art and archaeology
Library Service Center: N3735 .R634 1987
LSC also holds 1978 edition: 708.952 R645, R643, 1978 
Approximately 350 museums are listed in alphabetical order by name. Includes basic facts about each museum and an evaluative comment of the collection.

Nihon no bijutsukan to kikakuten gaido
日本の美術館と企画展ガイド 

EA Ref: N3735 .N546 
Published annually since 1997, this guide lists the special exhibitions held by by about 120 Japanese museums and provides information on the special exhibition dates, the museum's collections, hours, catalogs and how to get there.  Organized by region from Hokkaido to Okinawa. Has an index of museums by name and one page descriptions of a few special exhibits planned for the following year.

Zenkoku bijutsukan gaido = Museum in Japan
全国美術館ガイド

EA Ref: N3735 .Z38 1996
Covers 1530 museums in Japan.  Organized by region.  Provides address, phone number, hours, directions and a description of the collection.


 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified March 19, 2008 5:07:23 PM EDT