Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Notable Database
Whirl Crest

groveart.com
An image database, alternately known as Grove Dictionary of Art.  It covers ever aspect of visual arts from prehistory to the present day, and  contains 45,000 articles by more than 6,800 scholars.

Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese Art
Lilly Ref: N7358 .R6 1976
Revision of Koji Hoten, a book published in 1923. Does not include information on 20th century Japanese artists.

Guide to modern Japanese woodblock prints : 1900-1975
Lilly: 769.9520904 FM572, G946, 1992  (Being repaired)
Provides information on woodblock artists, art schools, organizations, exhibitions, magazines, publishers, carvers, printers, etc.

Nihon bijutsukan = The art museum of Japan
日本美術館
Lilly and EA Ref: N7350 .N64 1997  
Includes approximately 3000 works of art from prehistoric times to the present. Organized chronologically, with each chapter divided into themes. Furigana is extensively provided for names, titles of art works, and unfamiliar terms. Appendix includes a dictionary of art terms, a dictionary of artists, photographers, a list of images, and an index in gojuon order.


Last modified August 5, 2008 1:47:44 AM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870