Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Encyclopedias - Period/Topic

Heian jidaishi jiten
平安時代史事典
EA Ref: DS856 .H43 1994

Edogaku jiten
江戸学事典
EA Ref: DS822.2 .E39 1984

Sengoshi daijiten = Encyclopedia of Postwar Japan 1945-2004
 戦後史大事典
EA Ref: DS889 .S449 2005

Taishū bunka jiten = Encyclopedia of popular culture
大衆文化事典
EA Ref: DS821 .T24 1991 
Written by 300 specialists from a variety of fields, the dictionary aims at a broad understanding of popular culture; it aims to make it as concrete as possible, by looking at events, things, people and situations in the 19th and 20th centuries. Although it focuses on Japan, it is aware of the connections to Western and Asian popular culture. Each entry is signed and has suggestions for further reading and a link to a table at the end of the volume. Includes a bibliography of 8500 titles related to popular culture. Well illustrated.

Buraku mondai jinken jiten = Encyclopedia of buraku and human rights issues
部落問題・人権事典
EA Ref: HT725 .J3 B865  2001 
Covers "buraku" and human rights issues throughout rural and urban Japan. Articles are signed and often have brief bibliographies. Appendices include laws, treaties and conventions (Japanese and international), selected documents from and leaders of Suiheisha and Buraku Kaiho associations, statistics, including estimates of burakumin, and a chronology from 107-2000 AD. A comprehensive index.

Nihon kōtsūshi jiten
日本交通史辞典
EA Ref: HE277 .A2 N55 2003 
Covers trade and transportation of ideals, people and material goods of Japan to illuminate political, economic, social and legal history from ancient to modern times.

Nihon sōdō jiten
日本騒動事典

EAC: DS835 .N55515 1989
Covers a range of uprisings from petitions through ikki for the Tokugawa and early Meiji periods. Each entry is signed. Volume is arranged in gojuon order, but is indexed to account for variant names of the events.

Rōdō undō shimin undō hōritsu jiten
労働運動市民運動法律事典

EA REf: KNX1270 .R63 1979


 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified June 16, 2008 5:43:23 PM EDT