Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Bibliographies for Japanese History

Key Databases
Whirl Crest

Bibliography for Asian Studies
Indexes scholarly literature on the humanities and social sciences pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Use the "Advanced Search".

Historical Abstracts
Contains citations and abstracts from over 2,000 history journals on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. 

Shigaku zasshi [serial]
The May issue summarizes the previous year's scholarship, discussing trends.

Rekishigaku kenkyu  [serial]
Publishes an annual meeting report that is a useful guide to current scholarship.

Nihon rekishi [serial]
Lists new books and articles; some books are annotated.

An Introductory Bibliography for Japanese Studies 
EA Ref: DS806 .I57 1974
An English language, evaluative and selective bibliography of Japanese scholarship. Excellent essays which survey the field written by experts. Part I covers the humanities and Part II the social sciences. Good place to start.

Encyclopedias 
Multi-volume encyclopedias not only summarize relevant scholarship but also include a brief bibliography of the most important documentary and secondary sources.

Survey Histories
Survey Histories provide an overview of the scholarship at the time they were written. While some are directed to scholarly audiences, many are written for the educated reader and provide an accessible and readable overview.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified November 5, 2007 10:14:23 PM EST