Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Historical Texts & Images - General

General

Japanese Historical Text Initiative http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/JHTI/
Includes 15 texts ranging from the Kojiki to Meiji laws in a searchable database. Also provides a dictionary of basic Shinto terms, a bibliography, and linked electronic texts concerning matsuri, folk religion in Japan, and new religions.

Kyoto University Library Electronic Library   http://edb.kulib.kyoto-u.ac.jp/exhibit/index.html
Includes materials ranging from Nara e-hon to WWII newspapers to modern educational wallcharts.

National Archives of Japan Digital Gallery  http://jpimg.digital.archives.go.jp/kouseisai/index_e.html
Includes documents, maps, scrolls, drawings, photographs and posters. Browsable by category and by keyword.

Waseda's Collection of Chinese and Japanese Classics  http://www.wul.waseda.ac.jp/kotenseki/index.html
Contains Edo era literature, rangaku, the Okuma Shigenobu collection, an exhibition of Edo and Meiji photographs, portraits, newspapers and nishikie from Bakumatsu and Meiji.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified October 5, 2007 1:41:00 PM EDT