Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

WWII Texts & Images

WWII - Atomic Bomb - War Crimes - Allied Occupation

World War II

Sino-Japanese War 1931-1945  http://www.fas.harvard.edu/%7Easiactr/sino-japanese/

Modern History Sourcebook: Pearl Harbor Attack Documents  http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/1941PEARL.html
Collected, formatted, and edited by Larry W. Jewell.

World War II: Pacific Theater  http://library.louisville.edu/government/subjects/war/ww2/pacific.html
This page links to original source materials pertaining to World War II, and in particular to the Pacific War.  Included are links to a report produced in 1946 by the Manhattan Engineer District about the Hiroshima and Nagasaki atomic bombings, government documents about Pearl Harbor, and an FBI report about Tokyo Rose.

World War II Resources  http://sunsite.unc.edu/pha/
Primary source materials on the Web. Original documents regarding all aspects of the war. Includes The JAPANESE MONOGRAPHS, A series of 187 studies on Japan's role in WWII, written by Japanese participants in the events at the request of the US Government. 

Australia Japan Research Project  http://ajrp.awm.gov.au/AJRP/AJRP2.nsf/Web-Pages/HomePage?OpenDocument
The AJRP aims to provide a resource for historians and others interested in the Australia-Japan relationship, especially in war, from 1901 to 1957.  It contains a database of historic materials, several research essays and seminar papers, and various research aids, including glossaries and thesauri of geographical and military terms.

US Historical Documents: The University of Oklahoma College of Law
Congressional Declaration of War on Japan December 8, 1941   http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/japwar.html
Franklin D. Roosevelt's Infamy Speech  http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/infamy.html 
Japanese Surrender Documents  http://www.law.ou.edu/hist/japsurr.html


Atomic Bomb

Atomic Bomb  http://www.dannen.com/decision/
Includes documents on the decision to use the bomb.  Compiled by Gene Dannen who has been researching the life of Leo Szilard, one member of the Manhattan project.  Includes an extensive set of links to websites dealing with the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, or the history of nuclear weapons.

Use of Atomic Bomb  http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/eastasia/eastasiasbook.html#Japan%20as%20a%20World%20Power
From Internet East Asian History Sourcebook: under Japan as a world power. Includes material on decision to drop the bomb, testimony from survivors, A-Bomb museum in Hiroshima, Enola Gay controversy and some photographs.

Hiroshima Archive  http://www.lclark.edu/%7Ehistory/HIROSHIMA/
Has a photographic gallery and a directory of internet links.

Hiroshima and the Aftermath of the A-Bomb http://www.surveillance-video.com/hiroshima-jan-2010.html
Includes links to information on the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki and the after effects on people.

Hiroshima Nagasaki no kioku Message from Hibakusha 広島長崎の記憶 被爆者からのメッセージ
Includes 1600 first-hand accounts of the 1945 bombings written by A-bomb survivors based on a survey done by the Asahi shinbun in 2005. The website also includes recent articles published in the Asahi on A-bombs and peace.  Messages appear in two sections: Hiroshima and Nagasaki. We have provided detailed information on each hibakusha, including age and situation at the moment of their exposure to atomic bomb radiation. Using the search function, you can find messages related to certain terms, such as "black rain." Or, you can find out which survivors agreed to their names appearing on the web by searching for names in Japanese syllabary order.

Hiroshima Peace Site  http://www.pcf.city.hiroshima.jp/index_e2.html
Dedicated to the preservation of the memory of the Atomic Bomb in Hiroshima, and furthering the city of Hiroshima's role as international city of peace by efforts to inform policy decisions regarding testing, proliferation and use of nuclear weapons.

Atomic Bomb Museum  http://atomicbombmuseum.org/
From the planning of the bomb through the after effects and the pursuit of peace. includes testimonies from survivors. 

Hiroshima - Was it necessary?   http://www.doug-long.com/
Compiled by Doug Long a retired computer programmer who has worked as a professional historical consultant on the atomic bombing of Japan. Includes an extensive set of excerpts from diaries and papers relating to the atomic bombing of Japan.

Sensō shogen NHK 戦争証言アーカイブス
Provides 23 interviews with civilians and soldiers and their experiences in WWII done by NHK.

War Crimes

International Military Tribunal for the Far East, Yale University Law School   http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/imtfem.htm
Searchable, full-text database.

Japanese War Crimes: Resources for Researchers  http://www.archives.gov/iwg/japanese-war-crimes/
The Nazi War Crimes and Japanese Imperial Government Records Interagency Working Group (IWG). From the US National Archives.

Center for Research and Documentation on Japan's War Responsibility  http://space.geocities.jp/japanwarres/center/english/index-english.htm
日本の戦争責任資料センター Yasukuni Shrine web-sitehttp://space.geocities.jp/japanwarres/index.html
Provides information on court cases, documentation about Japan's aggression in WWII, comfort women, book reviews and links.  In English and Japanese.

Yasukuni Shrine web-site  http://www.yasukuni.or.jp/


Allied Occupation of Japan

Birth of the Constitution  http://www.ndl.go.jp/constitution/e/index.html
Covers the birth and enactment of the postwar constitution.  Includes 180 documents with commentaries from 1943 to 1947.  Provided by the National Diet Library.

Occupation
占領期新聞・雑誌情報データベース   http://prangedb.kicx.jp/login
Occupation period magazine database from the Prange Collection, University of Maryland.  Contains 13,799 magazine titles issued during the immediate post-World War II years, 1945-49.


 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified June 6, 2011 11:00:25 AM EDT