Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Guides to the Study of Popular Culture

Periodical Indexes
Whirl Crest

MagazinePlus
MagazinePlus indexes 14,000 periodicals published in Japan after World War II and 6000 volumes of collected works.  For help, see How to Use MagazinePlus.

Ōya Sōichi bunko zasshi kiji sakuin sōmokuroku:
大宅壮一文庫雑誌記事索引総目録。人名編;件名編
13 vols.
-Jinmei hen
EA Ref: AI19.J3 O9 1985
-Kenmei hen
EA Ref: AI19.J3 O9 1985a
-Jinmei hen 1988-95
EA Ref: AI19.J3 O9 1997
The index to the premier collection of popular magazines. The 1985 edition indexes 48,180 people and 395,654 events published in 240,000 journals from the Meiji era to the end of 1984. There is a 50,000 word index to the subject index.

Contemporary Japan and Popular Culture
PL: DS822.5 .C69 1996

Encyclopedia of contemporary Japanese culture
Perkins Ref: DS822.5 .E516 2002
Entries cover literature, film, architecture, food, health, politics, economics, religion and technology, and range from shorter definitions, histories or biographies to longer essays treating major issues and ideas in depth.  Entries are signed. A-Z format.  Includes cross references and suggestions for further reading.

Handbook of Japanese Popular Culture
PL: DS822.5 .H347 1989

Japan pop! : inside the world of Japanese popular culture
PL: DS822.5 .J386, 2000

Taishū bunka jiten = Encyclopedia of popular culture
大衆文化事典

EA Ref: DS821 .T24 1991
Written by 300 specialists from a variety of fields, the dictionary aims at a broad understanding of mass (popular) culture by looking at events, things, people and situations in the 19th and 20th centuries. Although it focuses on Japan, it is aware of the connections to Western and Asian popular culture. Covers folk culture and customs, popular music, movies, performing arts, games, comics, fashion, crimes, consumer life etc. Each entry is signed and has suggestions for further reading and a link to a table at the end of the volume. Includes a bibliography of 8500 titles related to popular culture. With subject and personal names indexes in Japanese and foreign languages. Well illustrated.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified May 6, 2008 10:52:09 AM EDT