To find Japanese films at Duke, use advanced search of the catalog with "feature films Japan" as subject keyword and limit search to film/video format.
The Internet Movie Database
The Japanese Filmography
A Complete Reference to 209 Filmmakers and over 1250 Films Released in the United states, 1900 through 1994.
Eiga terebi dorama gensaku bungei dēta bukku
Organized by director, lists films and film novels. Includes TV dramas. Provides a brief biographical sketch as well as a note about the films.
Asian Educational Media Service http://www.aems.uiuc.edu/
Descended from the Center for Educational Media (CEM) at Earlham, AEMS is a national clearinghouse for information about educational media (i.e., audio-visual) materials related to Asia. Maintains an up-to-date, computerized database of information about media which includes price and distributor information for materials still in print and holdings/lending information for materials held in the US. Can be searched by country, format, audience, subject, key word, title and date of production.
Bright Lights Film Journal Articles on Japanese Cinema http://www.brightlightsfilm.com/japan.html
Articles on silent film, Kurosawa, gay films and more. Reviews of new releases.
Center for Asian American Media http://www.asianamericanmedia.org/rf_cms/index.php
Created to counter the scarcity of images of Asians in film and television, to correct the often distorted portrayals of them in the mainstream media and to create opportunities for the full participation of Asian American producers in the public media. Source of many of the PBS films on Asian Americans; covers all of Asia; for all age groups; includes ethnic heritage, Japanese internment, aging, activism, art and performance.
China, Japan, Korea & Pacific Island Studies; Videotapes in the University of California at Berkeley Media Resources Center http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/MRC/CJKVid.html
Gives synopses, length, citations for reviews.
フィルムネットワーク (Film Network) http://www.acejapan.or.jp/film/index.html
Harvard Film Archive http://hcl.harvard.edu/hfa/
With preservation as its watchword, the Harvard Film Archive stores more than 8,000 films in climate-controlled vaults in Massachusetts, saving rare and valuable film from rapid deterioration. The HFA provides regular showings of its films and presents film series that explore the work of various directors, genres, and themes. In Spring 2005, the HFA will present a series on Koreeda Hirokazu, the director of Afterlife and Maborosi.
iFilm Connections: Asia and Pacific http://www.asianfilms.org/
A catalog of recent feature films and award winning films. Essays on Japanese cinema, and filmography of prominent directors such as Kurosawa
Institute of Isao Takahata & Hayao Miyazaki Films http://www.yk.rim.or.jp/%7Erst/index.shtml
Includes filmography, reviews and articles about films.
JPNFILM.COM (Japanese) http://www.jpnfilm.com/
Includes Japanese, international, student and online film festivals.
Kinema Club, Ohio State http://pears.lib.ohio-state.edu/Markus/Welcome.html
Kinema Club is an informal group of scholars studying Japanese cinema and other moving image media (the name comes from a famous Taisho era movie theater in Kobe) which was formed out of the shared need for bibliographic information. Has information on holdings in North American libraries, links to Japanese production companies, film festivals, actors, data and search engines, a discussion of Noel Burch's, To the Distant Observer, a guide to film specialty bookstores in Japan, and how to find prints in the US. Extremely useful.
Tokyo International Film Festival http://www.tiff-jp.net/en/
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.