Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Compilations of Buddhist and Shinto Texts

Catalogs of Scriptural Collections
Whirl Crest

Nihon Bukkyō tenseki daijiten
日本仏教典籍大事典

EA Ref: BQ1029.J32 N546 1986

Nihon Bukkyō zenshū sōsho shiryō sōran
日本仏教全集叢書資料総覧
3v.
EA Ref: BQ1029.J32 O936 1986

Bussho kaisetsu daijiten
仏書解説大辞典
15v.
EA Ref: BQ4016 .B877 1974
The most comprehensive listing of East Asian Buddhist texts. Provides detailed summaries of each text.

Shōwa hōbō somokuroku (Taishō shinshū daizōkyō bekkan)
昭和法宝総目録 3v.
EA Ref: BQ1105 .S569 1979 Suppl
Reprints all extant catalogues for every collection of scriptures and edition of the canon known to Japanese scholars ca. 1930.

Buddhist Texts

Chinese Buddhist texts   http://kanji.zinbun.kyoto-u.ac.jp/~wittern/can/can2/ind/canwww.htm
The WWW Database of Chinese Buddhist texts is a comprehensive list of Chinese Buddhist texts. It currently contains 4418 texts by 1513 authors. It makes available all texts contained in the following collections or catalogues and provides convenient cross-references among these sources of information: 1.Taishō Shinshū Daizōkyō, 2.Tripitaka Koreana, 3. Zhonghua Dazangjing, 4.Dainippon Zokuzōkyō, 5.'A catalogue of the Chinese translation of the Buddhist Tripitaka' by Bunyiu Nanjio, Oxford 1883. Presently encoded in Shift-JIS.

Dai Nihon Bukkyō zensho
大日本佛教全書
EAC: BQ670 .D35 1978-1983
151 volumes which covers 953 Japanese Buddhist texts printed by the end of the Edo period.

Electronic Buddhist Text Initiative   http://www.hm.tyg.jp/~acmuller/ebti.htm
This site contains information regarding the a wide range of ongoing projects which aim at the digital utilization of Buddhist texts, images and other cultural artifacts. Included are records of previous EBTI meetings, as well as a comprehensive annotated list of projects and other related URLs.

Kyoto University Library Electronic Library   http://edb.kulib.kyoto-u.ac.jp/exhibit/zokyo/index.html
Includes full texts of some Buddhist sutras (Daizokyo, Shinshu texts and so forth).

Taishō shinshū daizōkyō
大正新脩大蔵経. 85v.
EAC: BQ1105 .T357 1960
The standard edition for scholarship in all areas of East Asian Buddhism. Vols. 1--55 are the main canon; vols. 56--84 added Japanese works on Buddhism; vol. 85 reprinted newly discovered texts from Tun-huang and indigenous Chinese scriptures; vols. 86--97, catalogues of iconography; vols. 98--100, bibliography.

Taishō shinshū daizōkyō sakuin
大正新脩蔵経索引
45v.
EAC BQ1210 .T352 Index  1931
An indispensable reference tool for tracing terms, texts, and proper nouns through the canon.

The Taisho Tripitaka, 大正新脩大藏經テキストデータベース (Taisho Shinshu Daizokyo)   http://www.l.u-tokyo.ac.jp/%7Esat/
Provided in both Chinese (Big 5) and Japanese (Shift Jis). Searching under author/compiler, text title or text number (ie, number used in the Taisho set) is possible. At this point the table of contents of the 85 volumes (the Tripitaka proper, not including the 15 picture and bibliography volumes) is displayed. There are 2,920 individual sutras, commentaries, etc.

ShintōTexts

Japanese Historical Text Initiative
A collaboration of the University of California and Osaka International University, the site provides:

  • Searchable database of classical texts such as Kojiki and Nihon Shoki, as well as commentaries, and/or translations
  • Digitized research tools: Shintō dictionary, Shintō glossary, atlas, and Shintō bibliographic guide
  • Information on on-going digital Shintō research
  • Shintō studies on other web sites (includes the full text of of four works: Matsuri, New Relgions, Folk Beliefs and Kami, originally published by the Institute for Japanese Culture and Classics, Kokugakuin University)
  • Shintō web sites
  • Japanese culture web sites 

Confucian and Daoist Texts

Buddhist, Confucian, and Daoist E-texts, Indexes, and Bibliographies
Provides links to several sites on Daoism; also a link to the I-Ching including the cjk text and translations.

Zen Texts

The International Research Institute for Zen Buddhism
This is the website of the International Research Institute for Zen Buddhism (IRIZ) in Kyoto, Japan; includes information about the Institute, their publications, Buddhist input projects, reproductions of Zen Art, Zen stories, Zen centers and masters, Zen bibliographies, and Electronic text in East Asia.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified August 15, 2007 4:35:13 PM EDT