UCLA Guide to East Asian Buddhist Studies: Reference Works
First compiled by Robert Buswell; revised and expanded by William Bodiford
Religious Information Research Center
RIRC collects and analyzes information (magazine and newspaper articles) about contemporary religion.
Buddhist Studies WWW VL
This site has links to a variety of WWW resources for Buddhism, categorized by sect, as well as information on Buddhist text input/translation projects, databases, electronic newsletters and journals, organizations (including both Buddhist organizations and Buddhist Studies groups) and other religions networked resources. Includes:
EA Ref: B40 .T4 1971
Nihon shūkyō jiten
EA Ref: BL2202 .N5178 1985
Nihon shisōshi jiten = Dictionary of Japanese intellectual history
EA Ref: DS821 .N67926 2001
Covers Buddhism, Confucianism, Shintō, Kokugaku, historical thought, warrior thought, Western learning, scientific thought, modern thought, the arts, linguistics, and folk religion. Includes ample cross-references and citations for every entry. Index at front is by type of thought, sources and people. Index at rear is alphabetical.
Sōgō Bukkyō daijiten
EA Ref: BQ130 .S64 1987
The last volume includes a bibliography of primary works after the Meiji period.
Mochizuki Bukkyō daijiten. Zōteiban
EA Ref: BQ130 .M634 1967-1971
The traditional authoritative dictionary for the study of Buddhism. Provides explanations of terminology, sutras, Buddhas, sects, observances, temples, persons, geographical names, animals, plants etc. with sources. Indexes in Pali, Sanskrit, Japanese and Chinese are scattered in vols. 7, 8 and 10. Vol. 6 includes a Buddhist chronology and various genealogies. The last 3 vols. are supplements to vols 1-5.
Bukkyō Daijiten = Buddhica
EA Ref: BQ130 .B84 1988
Easy to read; gives 7,500 Buddhist terms, personal names, names of temples and sects and book titles. Includes a chronology.
Shin Bukkyō jiten
EA Ref: BQ130 .S556 1980
Bukkyōgaku jiten. Shin-pan
EA Ref: BQ130 .S556 1995
Nihon Bukkyōshi jiten
EA Ref: BQ676 .N645 1999
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.