National Women's Education Centre of Japan (NWEC) (Japanese) http://www.nwec.jp/English/
NWEC, from its campus in Saitama, provides opportunities for study, exchange, and research for women's organizations and individuals, both in Japan and from abroad. Housing is available on-campus at very reasonable rates. NWEC's Information Centre for Women's Education collects Japanese and foreign materials/information for study and research on women and the family. It also constructs various databases and provides a nationwide on-line service on women's learning information through WINET, an internet-based bibliographic database.
Databases from the NWEC Information Centre
Feminist Theory Website: Feminism in Japan http://www.cddc.vt.edu/feminism/jap.html
Hosted by the Center for Digital Discourse and Culture at Virginia Tech University; includes a bibliography and links to other sites about Japanese feminists/feminism.
Asia Japan Women's Resource Center http://www.aworc.org/index.html
Fax: 813 - 3463 - 9752 Tōkyō
The director, Matsui Yayori, is a former Asahi Shimbun international correspondent, author and activist on issues of women's rights.
Gender in Japan http://f00.middlebury.edu/JA350A/
Website for William Gardner's course at Middlebury. Contains bibliographies of secondary material in the "references" section. The course syllabus also contains useful information.
Gender Information Site, http://www.gender.go.jp/index2.html
Office of Gender Equality, Prime Minister's Office, Japan
Utopia: Women's Resources http://www.utopia-asia.com/womens.htm
The Utopia site contains a list of women's resources for China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Singapore, Taiwan, and Thailand. Utopia is devoted to Asian gay and lesbian issues.
The Women's Online Media Project, Japan, http://wom-jp.org/indexE.html
In English and Japanese. Women's Online Media (WOM) is a project of the Keio University Research Consortium. It aims to introduce women to the uses of electronic media and to serve as an accessible conduit to the overwhelming amount of information about women, women's studies, and women's issues on the Net. In addition, WOM hopes to dispatch information --that is, information not typically available in official publications and government announcements-- on the current condition of Japanese women, as well as to assist in creating a network among different women's groups scattered throughout Japan. Has information for foreigners living in Japan.
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.