This section includes guides to both print and online sources for photographs, works of art, and manga.
- Japanese Image Websites -- search by format, subject and/or historical period
Includes architecture, calligraphy, ceramics, folk arts, maps, painting, photographs, posters, prints, scrolls, sculpture. Freely accessible websites.
- Print sources in the East Asian Collection
Images include: photographs, photo essays, art work, manga/cartoons and other non-photographic images, hikifuda (advertising handbills), and more. You will find retrospectives recapping periods of modern Japanese history, as well as resources that focus on particular topics, such as women, children, Okinawa, and southeast Asia, and medieval and pre-modern Japan.
- Manuscript materials in David M. Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Some maps and photographs can be found in Duke's collection of reports from missionaries, early British diplomats to Japan, the East India company papers, diaries and letters from merchants and seamen as well as in such collections as the Stereographic card collection, 1860-1928, the postcard collection and the Hartman Center advertising collection. Holdings can be searched through their finding aids.
- Japanese University Library Digitization Projects
These are indexed at Ryukyu University.
- Japanese Museums
Japanese Museums, like ones in Europe and the United States, often put images up on their websites.
Historical maps have been digitized by Japanese and North American institutions.