Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Japanese Studies

Visual Index

Duke Image Databases
Wheat

Duke Image Collections

ARTSTOR

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)

groveart.com

Saskia Art Slides

This section includes guides to both print and online sources for photographs, works of art, and manga.

  1. Websites organized by format, subject and historical period
    Includes architecture, calligraphy, ceramics, folk arts, maps, painting, photography, posters, prints, scrolls, sculpture
  2. Print sources in the East Asian Collection
    Images include: photographs, photo essays, art work, manga/cartoons and other non-photographic images, hikifuda (advertising handbills), and more. You will find retrospectives recapping periods of modern Japanese history, as well as resources that focus on particular topics, such as women, children, Okinawa, and southeast Asia, and medieval and pre-modern Japan.
  3. Manuscript materials in Rare Books, Manuscript and Special Collections Library 
    Some maps and photographs can be found in Duke's collection of reports from missionaries, early British diplomats to Japan, the East India company papers, diaries and letters from merchants and seamen as well as in such collections as the Stereographic card collection, 1860-1928, the postcard collection and the Hartman Center advertising collection.  Holdings can be searched through their finding aids
  4. Japanese University Library Digitization Projects
    These are indexed at Ryukyu University.
  5. Japanese Museums
    Japanese Museums, like ones in Europe and the United States, often put images up on their websites.
  6. Manga
  7. Maps
    Historical maps have been digitized by Japanese and North American institutions.
 
Last modified June 12, 2009 3:22:29 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.