Web Site Search

Ask us now
Duke Users Only

The Duke Jewish Studies Database List

Includes both specific Jewish Studies databases and general databases where you can search for topics in Jewish studies.

Index to Hebrew Periodicals

Articles in Hebrew periodicals, collections, a few monographs, newspapers and articles in other languages, dealing with the Land of Israel.

Index to Jewish Periodicals

A comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

Responsa Project & Encyclopedia Talmudit 

Bar Ilan Judaic Library. CD-ROM at the Divinity School Library. 

Jewish Studies

DATABASES

Free Online Databases

dish

Academic Guide to Jewish History Resources

A University of Toronto Library guide to major print and online academic resources on Jewish history.

Center for Jewish History

Contains books, documents, manuscripts, photographs and artifacts from the collections of the partners of the Center for Jewish History

  • American Jewish Historical Society
  • American Sephardi Federation
  • Leo Baeck Institute
  • Yeshiva University Museum
  • Yivo Institute for Jewish Research   

The Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History The Jewish History Resource Center

Over 6000 links to websites in more than 30 categories dealing with Jewish History from Biblical times to the present.

  • Periods and Topics: Jewish history, archaeology, gender studies, and geneology,
  • Resources:  databases, texts, bibliographies, maps,
  • Academic World: centers, professors, grants, conferences,
  • Organizations:   libraries, archives, museums, 
  • Tools: indexes and search engines.

Kiryat Sefer

The national bibliography of the State of Israel and the Jewish people.  Established in 1925 in order to document materials published in Israel in a variety of disciplines and languages, it is deposited in the Jewish National and University Library.  The bibliography also includes publications in Judaica, acquired by the library from around the world in a variety of languages.

Rambi: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies

A bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel, in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.

ABZU

A guide to information related to the study of the Ancient Near East on the Web

Compact Memory: dem Wissenschaftsportal für Jüdische Studien

E-text of more than a hundred Jewish periodicals published in Germany between 1806 and 1938.

Inscriptions from the Land of Israel

Published inscriptions from the Land of Israel that date between ca. 500 BCE and 614 CE, roughly corresponding to the Persian, Greek, and Roman periods.  Substantial contextual information for these inscriptions includes images and geographical information.

Ketubbot Digitization Project

A registry of more than 1200 ketubbot in public and private collections throughout the world, covering a time period of over 900 years.