Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Jewish Studies

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

Encyclopaedia Judaica - Duke Users Only

2007 Edition - Online and in print

1997 Edition - Full-text CD-ROM

Search for Dictionaries

Search the Duke catalog under the Subject Heading "Hebrew Language Dictionaries" and choose from the list according to your needs and interests.

For English-Hebrew Dictionaries at Duke or to search the catalog for subject keywords:

English language - Dictionaries - Hebrew

or

Hebrew Language - Dictionaries - French

Hebrew dictionaries can also be found on the Reference shelves in Perkins/Bostock, at the Carpenter Reference Room at Lilly and under call no. PJ4833

Encyclopedias Online - Free Access

Jewish Encyclopedia

Includes the complete contents of the original Encyclopedia published between 1901-1906 and contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations.

Modern Hebrew Literature

A bio-bibliographical lexicon (Hebrew only)


Subject Dictionaries

For Subject Dictionaries search the Duke Online Catalog for these subject keywords:

Judaism -- Dictionaries

Israel -- History -- Dictionaries

Zionism -- History -- Dictionaries


Language Dictionaries

English-Hebrew Dictionaries

Online - Free Access

Morfix

Safa Ivrit

Hebrew Academy

Jewish Language Research Website

Text and sound samples, researchers, translators, resources of Hebrew, Ladino, Yiddish, Judeo-Arabic, Jewish-English, and many more.


Last modified January 28, 2009 4:48:36 PM EST

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870