Alternative Travel Directory. Amherst, MA: Transitions Abroad Publications, 1996.
Perkins Ref LC6681. A48 (also Ford Ref LC6681.A48 1996; earlier volumes in Perkins)This guide has three sections, "Travel, "Study," and "Work," and covers both short-term and longer travel experiences. Each section includes directories, with an index to countries, and essays by individuals. It is aimed at Americans wanting to live, work, or study overseas.
American Jobs Abroad, edited by Victoria Harlow and Edward Knappman. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1994.
Perkins HF5382.56 .U6 H37 1994
This publication provides tips on getting a job, making the move, and living abroad. It includes profiles of over 800 U.S. corporations with career opportunities overseas and nearly 100 government agencies and non-profit organizations that employ Americans abroad, as well as descriptions of 111 nations with details on location, major cities, American communities, languages, and working and living conditions. A job category index rounds out the book.
Cohen, Marjorie Adoff. Work, Study, Travel Abroad: The Whole World Handbook. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1995
Perkins LB2376 .W48
Published under the auspices of the CIEE (Council on International Educational Exchange), Work, Study, Travel Abroad provides basic information regarding work permits, job availability and sources for further information. Areas covered include Europe, Russia, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the Middle East, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Caribbean.
Gerard, Pamela and Foreign Policy Association. Guide to Careers in World Affairs. Manassas Park, VA: Impact Publications, c1993.
LSC 331.702 G946 1993
This guide surveys a wide variety of fields of international employment. For each chapter, a leader in the field provides an introduction that gives information on the nature of the work, qualifications, outlook, and job hunting. Each employer entry has a company or organization description, numbers, and position titles of professional staff, qualifications, training programs, and application procedure. Additional chapters treat internships and graduate programs. There is an annotated bibliography and an index.
Griffith, Susan. Work Your Way Around the World. Oxford: Vacation Work, 1985.
Perkins Ref HF5549.5. E45 G74
A "how to" guide for those who want to work abroad and travel. This British publication focuses on temporary labor in Europe, Australia, New Zealand, the U.S., Canada, Latin America, Africa, Israel, and Asia. Each country is accompanied by a map which notes locations for various harvests (grape picking, olive picking, tobacco picking) as well as other temporary employers such as tourist centers & ski resorts. Also contains useful information on "working as a passage," "odd jobs," gambling, and taxes. A very useful guide for the traveler who seeks short-term employment.
Hubbs, Clayton A. Work Abroad: The Complete Guide to Finding a Job Overseas. Amherst, MA: Transitions Abroad Publishing, 2002.
Perkins Ref HF5382.55. W675 2002
A great current guide with the standard information on preparation for working abroad, job searches, short and long term work opportunities, volunteer and internship programs and teaching English. Thoughtful personal essays are interspersed for additional perspective.
Segal, Nina and Eric Kocher. International Jobs: Where They Are, How to Get Them. 6th ed. Reading, MA.: Addison-Wesley Publ. Co., 2003.
Perkins Ref HF5382.55. S443 2003 (also in Ford)
Kocher's work is designed to broaden one's knowledge of international career opportunities. Part 1, which deals with career planning and job strategy, includes advice on tailoring one's academic career towards overseas work. Part II focuses on the international job market and includes chapters on the new world of the 90s and job prospects with the federal government, the United Nations and related organizations, international business and banking, nonprofit organizations, international communications, teaching, and international law. The work contains an extensive bibliography.
Krannich, Ronald L. and Caryl R. Krannich. International Jobs Directory. 3rd ed. Manassas Park, VA: Impact Publications, 1999.
Ford: Ref HF5549.5.E45 K72 1999 (Earlier volumes in Ford and Perkins under title: The Almanac of International Jobs and Careers)
This companion volume to the authors' Complete Guide to International Jobs and Careers provides key information for locating major international employers. It gives names, addresses, and telephone numbers for over 1,000 key employers in the international arena. Chapters provide information on work permits, job listings, and relocation resources as well as in-country contacts. Included are chapters describing opportunities through the federal government, institutional organizations, associations, societies, research institutes, businesses, contract and consulting firms, private voluntary organizations, nonprofit organizations and foundations, and colleges and universities.
Krannich, Ronald L. and Caryl R. Krannich. Jobs For People Who Love to Travel. 3rd ed. Manassas Park, Va. : Impact Publiactions, c1999.
Ford West Mezzanine HF5381 .K688 1999 and online
Offers vocational guidance for those who enjoy traveling both domestically and abroad. Divided into chapters by industry, including "travel and hospitality", "federal, state and government", "teaching" and "business." Unique features of this book include short tests to determine your international career interests and level of comfort with international travel.
Thompson, Mary Anne. The Global Resume and CV Guide. New York: Wiley, 2000.
Ford West Mezzanine HF5383 .T53 2000
Covers North and South America, Asia and Europe. Provides country by country advice on resume writing, interviewing and cultural etiquette. Each chapter contributed by someone experienced in living and working in the country at hand. Also provides sample resumes and CV's.
Thompson, Mary Anne. Going Global Country Career Guide. Washington, D.C.: Going Global, 2003.
Perkins Reference HF5382.55 .T566 2003
Each country profile in these two volumes includes employment web sites, information on work permits, visa requirements, and cost of living, plus cultural advice and interview tips. Also included are resume and CV samples for each country.
Win, David. International Careers: An Insider's Guide: Where to Find Them, How to Build Them. Charlotte, VT: Williamson Publishing, 1987.
Ford HF5549.5 .E45 .W525 1987 (Also in Ford Ref)
This book deals with making yourself appealing in an international business market. The focus is on long-term employment. According to the cover, this book "presents an international career-building process, custom-tailored to the needs and demands of today's highly competitive international market."
Directory of Overseas Summer Jobs. Oxford: Vacation Work, 2002.
Perkins Ref HD6270. D5 Earlier volumes in Perkins stacks
Includes information from most continents. Jobs listed by country with useful location specific information about work permits, bureaucratic red tape and volunteer opportunities. Despite the title, this book also has chapters titled "Winter jobs" and "Au Pair, Paying Guests, and Exchange Visits."
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.