Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Korean Studies

About the Collection

Miree Ku, Subject Librarian

235 Bostock Library | miree.ku@duke.edu | 919.660.5817

  • The Korean Collection supports the program in Korean Studies, a growing component of East Asian Studies at Duke and Duke’s overall mission.
  • The collection now holds about 10,000 monographic volumes, 100 periodicals, and over 800 films. Duke’s Korean Collection is the only Korean collection in the southeastern United States.
  • The Korean collection covers a wide range of subjects in the social sciences and humanities with strengths in history, literature and art history, culture, buddhism, cinema and performing arts, dovetailing with strengths in the Chinese and Japanese collections as well as reflecting faculty and student interests. The major Korean Studies Databasesare also available at Duke.
  • The English language collection is strong in the social sciences, reflecting Korea’s recent economic strength and scholarly interest in the process of democratization. 
  • The reference collection is strong in language, history, premodern and modern Korean literature. There are also materials on the Japanese colonial experience in Korea, both culturally and economically/politically, in Korean and Japanese.
  • The Korean Collection supports teaching and research through the Korean Studies program, East Asian Studies, and Korea-related studies. The Korean Collection is housed in the East Asian Collection at the second floor of Perkins/Bostock Library while materials in western languages are located in the main stacks of Perkins/Bostock Library and departmental libraries.
  • For more information on searching for Korean materials, please see the Search Tips. If you have any suggestions for the Korean Collection such as new books or journals, please contact the Korean Studies Librarian.
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified January 30, 2012 3:07:06 PM EST