Korean Studies
Selected Databases for Area Studies and Culture
- Academic OneFile Provides access to some 11,000 journals with full-text articles from more than 4,000 peer-reviewed journals and reference sources worldwide. Covers the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) Indexes the scholarly literature on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
- Complete Index to World Film since 1895 With coverage beginning in 1895, this comprehensive database compiled by Alan Goble includes the credits of more than 381,000 films from 175 countries. A keyword search is available across the database by title, person, year, origin, or genre, with hypertext links among films, actors, directors, and other technical credits.
- Duke University Catalog Includes over 6 million volumes, eleven million manuscripts and 2 million documents. Branch libraries cover music, art, law, engineering, business and special collections of rare materials and area studies.
- FIAF international filmarchive Indexes over 300 popular and academic journals focusing on film (motion pictures), video and television. Contains full content of International Index to Film Periodicals and International Index to Television Periodicals. Journals from over 60 countries are included.
- JSTOR A database of archived issues of academic journals. (w/ Full Text Articles)
-
MLA Intl Bibliography (MLA) Provides citations to research in literature, literary criticism, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, film and video, and other communicative behavior.
- Project Muse A database of e-journals covering the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics. The journals are published by university presses, including the Duke University Press. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- WorldCat Contains more than 40 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. When searching this database, "title phrase" is an exact search for the full title and "title" is a keyword search within the title fie
Other Databases
- Academic Search Premier A scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- Asian American drama Large collection of Asian American plays, of which 50% have never been published before. Database also includes playbills, production photographs, biographical information, theater information, and other accompanying details. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- Blackwell Reference Online E-book resources for learning and research. Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- Book Review Index Indexes book reviews published in newspapers, journals, and general interest publications. Excellent source for scholarly reviews of books.
- Britannica Online Contains full-text articles from Encyclopedia Britannica and Britannica Book of the Year (world events since 1993). Includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and articles of current interest, featured biographies, links to quality web sites ("Britannica Internet Guide"), the year in review, and more. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) Offers full texts and/or abstracts of books, journals, conference proceedings, and research reports in the field of International Affairs. Subject coverage includes global issues, world politics and political science, religions, nationalism, terrorism, diplomacy, security, and the world economy. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- CRL Foreign Doctoral Disserations This collection is of dissertations produced for non-U.S. universities. It searches a subset of the non-U.S. dissertations held by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). To see more dissertations held by CRL, search the "Center for Research Libraries" database.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full Text Includes more than 2.4 million entries for dissertations and theses in all subject areas from around the world. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- Global newsbank A collection of full text news articles from more than 1,500 international sources, including translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, wire services, newspapers, periodicals, and government documents.
- Google Scholar Searches a subset of scholarly materials with particular emphasis on the sciences. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- History Reference Online An online collection reproducing ABC-CLIO's history reference print titles from all areas of history and related topics. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This database contains bibliographic information from an international selection of publications (including over 2600 journals) in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- Literature Resource Center (LRC) Designed for the research needs of undergraduates, the LRC provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- PAIS International Indexes the social sciences with emphasis on contemporary worldwide social, economic and political issues, and public policy. Covers journals, books, government publications, and directories.
- ProQuest Provides access to an extensive collection of journals, newspapers, and magazines. (w/ Full Text Articles)
- World Biographical Information System (WBIS) Contains biographical information on over 3.8 million people worldwide, from the 4th century BC to present. All areas of society and professions are covered. Korean Biographical Archive available. (w/ Full Text Articles)
Last modified September 16, 2008 1:13:53 PM EDT