Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Korean Studies

Periodicals


General

PeriodicalCall NumberlanguageDescription
Acta Koreana Perkins/Bostock A188AK English Quarterly
*Online full text available from 2005-present
East Asian Review Perkins/Bostock E13AM English Quarterly
In-depth studies on issues related to East Asia, especially on the Korean peninsula and the surrounding powers

Hanʼguk munhwa
한국문화

East Asian Collection H239M Korean

Quarterly
Published by Kyujanggak Institute for Korean Studies.
*Online full text available from 1998-present through DBpia database

Hangyŏre 21 = Weekly news magazine 
한겨레 21

East Asian Collection H239Z Korean Weekly news magazine
Journal of Korean Studies Perkins/Bostock DS901 .J68 English Annual
Outstanding articles from all disciplines concering Korea.
Korea Focus  Perkins/Bostock K84FO English Monthly webzine available online and a quarterly printed journal.        Commentaries and essays on Korean politics, economy, society and culture, as well as relevant international issues.

Korea Journal 

Perkins/Bostock K84K

English Quarterly
Articles, debates, book reviews and book notes regarding the field of Korean Studies.
*Online full text available from 1961-present

Korea Observer 

Perkins/Bostock K84O English Quarterly
A peer reviewed journal, it contains articles, book reviews, and other editorial matters on all aspects of politics, economics, societies and culture relevant to Korea. 
*Online full text available from 1998-present
Korean Studies
한국학
Perkins/Bostock  DS901.K854 English Annual
A variety of scholarly topics through interdisciplinary and multicultural articles, book reviews, and essays in the humanities and social sciences.
*Online full text available from 1997-present

Koreana 

Perkins/Bostock K84L English *Online full text available from 1987-present
KoreAm

Perkins/Bostock  K84A

English *Online full text available from 2003 - present
Munhwa kwahak 
문화과학
East Asian Collection M966K Korean Quarterly
*Online full text available from 1992-present
Noksaek pyŏngnon 
녹색평론
East Asian Collection N785 Korean Bimonthly

Pictorial Korea 

Perkins/Bostock P611C Korean Monthly

The Review of Korean Studies

Perkins/Bostock R454AH English Semiannual;
*Free full text available at the Academy of Korean Studies website.
*Online full text available from 1998-present through DBpia database.

Seoul Journal of Korean Studies 

Perkins/Bostock  S479J English Peer-reviewed biannual publication by Seoul National University. It contains the articles from scholars of all desciplines doing work specifically pertaining to Korea. *Online full text available from 1988-present through DBpia database.
Sin tonga 
신동아
East Asian Collection  S615 Korean Monthly
Sungkyun Journal of East Asian Studies Perkins/Bostock  DS501 .S86

English

Semiannual; multi-disciplinary journal dedicated to East Asian Studies. *Free online full text available from the first issue, 2001-present.
Toegye hakpo 
퇴계학보
East Asian Collection T641 Korean
Umŏn sensŭ 
우먼센스
East Asian Collection U52S Korean Monthly

Wŏlgan Inmul kwa sasang  
월간 인물과 사상

East Asian Collection W861I Korean Monthly
Yŏsŏng Tonga 
여성동아
East Asian Collection Y65T Korean Monthly

History

PeriodicalCall NumberlanguageDescription
International journal of Korean history  Perkins/Bostock I61JKH English Semiannual
*Online full text available from 2000-present through DBpia database.
Yŏksa pipyŏng 
역사비평
East Asian Collection Y54B Korean

Quarterly
*Online full text available from 2000-present through DBpia database. 




Sociology

PeriodicalCall NumberLanguageDescription
Asian Women Perkins/Bostock A832AW English Quarterly
Interdisciplinary and cross-cultural journal
*Online full text available from 1995-present through DBpia database.
Korean Social Science Journal Perkins/Bostock HN730.5 .A65 English

Annual
A broad range of topics in social sciences with particular emphasis on the political, economic, social, cultural, and educational problems in contemporary Korea.

Sahoe pipyŏng 
사회비평
East Asian Collection S131V Korean Quarterly
*Online full text available from 1988-2003 through DBpia database.

Yŏsŏng kwa sahoe       여성과 사회

East Asian Collection HQ1104 .Y683 Korean Annual
*Online full text available from 1990-2005 through DBpia database.



Language & Literature

PeriodicalCall NumberLanguageDescription
An kwa pak: Yŏng-Mi munhak yŏngu  In/outside : English studies in Korea 
안과밖: 영미문학연구
East Asian Collection A531K Korean Semiannual
English studies in Korea.
*Online full text available from 1995-present through KISS database.
Azalea Perkins/Bostock PL950.2 .A93 English  Annual
Journal of Korean literature & culture
*Online full text available from 2007-present.
Changjak kwa pipyŏng 
창작과 비평
East Asian Collection C456K Korean

Quarterly
*Online full text available from 1966-present through DBpia database

The English language and literature
(Yŏngŏ yŏngmunhak영어영문학

Perkins/Bostock E58LL English

Quarterly
*Online full text available from 1955-present through KISS database

Hyŏndae munhak 
현대문학
East Asian Collection H997 Korean Monthly
Korean literature today Perkins/Bostock K84P English Semiannual
Munhak kwa sahoe 
문학과 사회
East Asian Collection M966H Korean

Quarterly
*Online full text available from 1988-present through DBpia database

Munhak tongne 
문학동네
East Asian Collection M966T Korean  
Silchŏn munhak 
실천문학
East Asian Collection S582 Korean

Quarterly
*Online full text available from 1980-present through DBpia database




Cinema & Performing Arts

PeriodicalCall NumberLanguageDescription
Korean Cinema Lilly Library PN1993.5.K6 K67 English  Annual 
Korean Cinema Today Lilly Library English  Bimonthly
Revitalized new name of Korean Film Observatory. 
*Online full text (Download PDF) available from the first issue of Korean Film Observatory, 2001.
Korean Film Observatory Lilly Library English

Quarterly herald about the film industry and policy in Korea; Full text (Download PDF) available online.

Korean Film Guide Lilly Library PN1993.5.K6 K674   English Semiannual 
Ssine 21 
시네 21
East Asian Collection S774T Korean Weekly

Politics

PeriodicalCall NumberLanguageDescription
Asian Perspective Perkins/Bostock A832ZD S914 English

Quarterly
A peer-reviewed social sciences journal of world/comparative politics for Far-eastern studies.
*Online full text available from 1997-present through KISS database.
*Online full text available from 2003-present.

Korea (Korea Policy Review) Perkins/Bostock  K84PO English

Monthly; first-hand information of the Korean government's major policies.

Korean Journal of Policy Studies Perkins/Bostock  K84KF English Semiannual
A broad range of issues in public administration and public policy.
*Online full text available from 1998-present through KISS database.
Kukche kwangye yŏngu = IRI review 
국제관계연구
East Asian Collection K96J Korean Semiannual; Journal of International Politics; Full text available online.
Kukche pyŏnghwa 
국제평화
East Asian Collection K96A Korean Semiannual; Journal of International Peace
Oegyo = Foreign Relations 
외교
East Asian Collection O28 Korean Quarterly
Tonghyang kwa chŏnmang 
동향과 전망
East Asian Collection T665K Korean Journal of Korean social trend and perspective
Tong Asia bŭripŭ = East Asia brief 
동아시아 브리프

East Asian Collection T665A

Korean
Ŭijŏng yŏngu = Korean journal of legislative studies
의정연구
East Asian Collection U33J Korean  

Economics

Periodical   Call NumberLanguage Description

Hanguk kyŏngje ripotŭ 
한국경제리포트              

East Asian Collection HC466 .H2255 Korean
Journal of economic research Perkins/Bostock  K99B English Semiannual
Provides theoretical and empirical aspects of economics, financial economics and related area.
*Free online full text available from 1996-present
Korean Economic & Financial Review Perkins/Bostock  K84E English  
Kyŏngje wa sahoe 
경제와 사회
East Asian Collection K99W Korean
On Korea HF1602.5.O5 English 

9-10 papers per year
Academic paper series published by the Korea Economic Institute (KEI).
*Free online full text available from 2006-present


Buddhism

PeriodicalCall NumberlanguageDescription
Buddhist studies review Electronic journal  English Semiannual
*Online full text available from 2003-2009, and Online full text from 2006-present.
Contemporary Buddhism Electronic journal  English Semiannual
*Online full text available from 2003-2009
International Journal of Buddhist Thought & Culture Divinity B162 .I58   English Semiannual
*Online full text available from 1998-present through KISS database.
Journal of Buddhist ethics Electronic journal  English  Annually
Journal of Global Buddhism Electronic journal  English Updated often
*Online full text available from 2000-present.
The Buddhist Forum  Divinity BQ2 .B815   English  Irregular
The Journal of the International Association of Buddhist Studies  Divinity BQ2 .I55a  English  Semiannual
The Journal of the Korean Association for Buddhist Studies 한국불교학 Electronic journal  Korean  Annual; Online full text available via KISS Database
 
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified January 30, 2012 11:58:35 PM EST