Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Korean Studies

Search Tips

Duke’s Online Catalog

Catalog Home: A new catalog interface to provide advanced tools for keyword searching with relevance ranking search results, refining search results, enhanced tables of contents, summaries, subject headings, and book cover images. Searchable using Korean as well as a romanizied script for Korean resources. All the computers in Perkins/Bostock Library are able to input Korean scripts. If you are having trouble searching for Korean materials,  please ask the Korean Studies Librarian for help.

Classic Catalog is the old catalog interface. The classic catalog enables you to browse an alphabetical index of all possible values for authors, titles, or subjects.

Books

  • Books in Korean: the East Asian Collection, the second floor of Perkins/Bostock Library together with Chinese and Japanese materials in LC call number order.
  • Books in English: the Perkins Library in LC call number order; however, art, film and video, and performing arts are located in Lilly Library and religious materials in the Divinity Library.

Periodicals

Journal Articles in English

  • Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS): Online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies references principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. It offers users various methods for seeking citations, powerful search function, browsinh by country-subject or by journal title.

Reference Books

  • Reference books such as bibliographies, encyclopedias, and dictionaries are shelved in Nicholas Family International Reading Room of Bostock Library by the LC call number as non-circulating books.

Audio-Visuals


Duke’s Korean Collection Database

Duke’s Korean Collection Database includes over 700 audio-visual materials and new Korean books. Through an integrated search box, you can search by title, author, publisher, director, and actor/actress in Korean, English, or Romanized scripts.

Korean Video Collection

  • Searchable Korean Video Collection Database at Duke
  • Search box: Search for title, director, and actor/actress in any Korean, English, or Romanized scripts through an integrated search box
  • Show all videos: Browse all videos
  • Categories: Search for Feature Films, TV Dramas and Documentary Films.
  • Call Number: Link to Duke’s online catalog for location and full view of record
  • Release year: Sort by Movie or Media release year by clicking “Movie” or “Media”

Korean Book Collection

  • Searchable Korean New Book Collection Database at Duke
  • Search box: Search for title, author, and publisher in any Korean, English, or Romanized scripts through an integrated search box
  • Show all books: Browse all new books
  • Categories: Search for subjects
  • Call Number: Link to Duke’s online catalog for location and full view of record

WorldCat

This search is primarily for items that are not held at Duke University. WorldCat or FirstSearch is a cumulative database containing catalog records from many libraries worldwide. These materials can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).


McCune-Reishauer Romanization

Korean resources at Duke’s library are cataloged in Korean scripts as well as in Romanization with McCune-Reischauer system based on pronunciation, which is different from the official Romanization system in Korea. You will need to use correct Romanization to retrieve Korean materials as follows:

Search Tips

  • Romanize the Korean title/author/keyword using the M-R Romanization system.
  • Space after each word, a particle, lexical unit, etc.
  • Omit diacritics such as breve (˘), alif (’) and ayn (‛)

Searching Example

  • 한국 연극사 연구: Hanguk yonguksa yongu
  • 우리 문화의 뿌리를 찾아서: Uri munhwa ui ppuri rul chajaso
  • 박완서 단편 소설 전집: Pak Wan-so tanpyon sosol chonjip
  • 우리 국악 100년: Uri kugak 100-yon , Uri kugak paengnyon
Last modified August 16, 2009 10:26:03 AM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.