Duke Users Only

The HAPI database contains citations to journal articles and book reviews in English and Spanish dealing with Latin America, the Caribbean and Latinos in the United States.
Informe contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles in Spanish. Although the majority of content is in Spanish, some English articles are included. It is best to search using Spanish keywords.
Informe es una base de datos publicada para usuarios hispanoparlantes que ofrece índices, imágenes, y textos completos de revistas populares y académicas en español. Además contiene una selección de artículos de periódicos latinoamericanos. La anotación de títulos aparece en inglés así como en español.
ProQuest Latin American Newsstand provides complete contents from over 35 full-text Latin-American newspaper titles in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. All of the titles are leading news sources in the countries where they are published. Most coverage starts with 2005 though some go back to 1995.
PRISMA provides full-text to scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Latin America and the Caribbean. PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese and English language content. Coverage includes Anthropology, Business and Economics, History, Literature, Political Science, and Sociology. PRISMA includes key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI).
Public Resources
A Word on Finding Internet Sites
All that is required to identify high quality, publicly available internet sites related to Latin American and Caribbean Studies is to use the LANIC index which is devoted to this purpose.
LANIC is a professionally staffed effort located at the University of Texas where full time faculty and trained student assistants seek and evaluate web sites relevant to all aspects of Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Organized by country, theme and discipline, this really is one-stop-shopping. The site is available in English, Spanish & Portuguese. Several special projects are included such as Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA), and the Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP) which provides access to conference proceedings, unpublished reports, and similar “grey literature”.
Public Databases
Provided by the Venezuelan government, this is a collection of e-books in Spanish. It is made up of eight collections including Classics; Abbreviated editions of classics; Biography, autobiography and essays; Political works; Documents for interdisciplinary study; Works that present themes that parallel the classics; New works by promising authors; DELAL a biobibiographical dictionary.
Biblioteca Virtual del Bicentenario 1810-2010 (Chile) is a digital library composed of significant titles related to Chilean culture, focusing on history and literature since the colonial period until the present time.
CARINDEX is an index to the contents of West Indian journals published in the Caribbean region. It also includes theses, conference papers and collections of working papers. PLEASE NOTE: DURING 2007-2008 CARINDEX IS BEING TRANSFERRED TO A NEW SITE AND WILL ONLY BE AVAILABLE AS A CD. FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT holly.ackerman@duke.edu
CLACSO is one of the most prestigious research organizations in Latin American. This database contains their research reports and other documents.
This database has been prepared at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) since 1976. It contains journal articles in full text from Latin America and the Caribbean.
A project of the Latin American Research Resources Project and LANIC containing digital images of Mexican and Argentine presidential speeches from the 19th century.
The Eldis Poverty Resource Guide supports the analyses of poverty and related implications of social and economic policies within Africa, Asia and Latin America.
FAMSI’s research department provides access to a searchable database of citations to works on Mesoamerica (Bibliografía Mesoamericana) as well as cultural maps, photos, conference reports, facsimiles of codices and other materials on the region and its people. Each section of the site has to be searched separately.
Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of selected works annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
The Human Rights Library at the University of Minnesota is one of the largest collections of more than twenty-three thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments. The site also provides access to more than four thousands links and a unique search device for multiple human rights sites.
The Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP) is a project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC), to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web."
LAPTOC is a searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America.
Latindex is an index of online journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal with links to individual journals but no search capacity across journals.
Memoria Chilena is a portal devoted to culture in Chile. It primarily focuses on literature, history, and the arts. It includes an outstanding digital collection of e-books, articles web sites, and audovisual materials.
Included in this very useful site are the full text of Latin American constitutions as well as documents on comparative analysis; executive branch; legislative branch; judicial branch; electoral systems and data; political parties; decentralization and local governance in Latin America.
As its name indicates, this is a journal collection. It has full-text of over 200 journals. The contents of RedALyC are now also available in the public version of the database WorldCat at http://www.worldcat.org
SciELO is a free database containing the full-text of scientific and social sciences journal articles from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Spain, and Venezuela. An English version of journal articles is also available.
These databases contain citations only for Spanish language materials on Latin American Studies and for the Humanities and Social Sciences in general. The databases are produced by The Center for Scientific Information and Documentation (CINDOC- El Centro de Información y Documentación Científica) in Spain.
This collection contains full text of all journals published by the University of Cádiz, several of which contain articles on Latin America & the Caribbean.
Back to Top