Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Latin American & Caribbean Studies

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Duke Users Only

calendar 


Blackwell Reference Online

Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management.

Spanish Reference Center

Spanish Reference Center is a Spanish language work from the Encyclopædia Britannica and covers the history, culture, and key figures of Spain and Latin America in addition to more general information. The Enciclopedia includes over 47,000 articles, a version Royal Spanish Academy dictionary with 65,000 listings, an atlas and graphics and photographs. Many of the articles were prepared especially for this version. Enciclopedia Universal en Español is based on the earlier Enciclopedia Hispánica.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provides access to encyclopedias, alamancs and other specialized reference materials in a wide range of subjects. 

The International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences

The International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences is an attempt to map the history, current theory and methodology of the social and behavioral sciences.  It contains 4,000 articles and over 90,000 biographical entries.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 general and subject dictionaries, encyclopedias and language reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Public Resources


Diccionario de la Lengua Española

The official online dictionary of the Real Academia Española.

Verbix: Romance Languages: Spanish

Verbix is a site devoted to conjugating Spanish verbs.

yourDictionary.com

yourDictionary provides listings of on-line dictionaries, thesauri, and lexicons for dozens of languages.

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified June 26, 2008 6:12:43 PM EDT