Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Latin American & Caribbean Studies

Images

Duke Users Only

head

AccuNet/AP multimedia archive

Images can be searched by description, location or time period. Pictures from the Archive cannot be sold, syndicated, loaned or used for advertising or for trade without written consent of AP. Users cannot republish any of the photographs on a web page.

ARTSTOR

Provides access to a large collection of images covering art, architecture, and archaeology for many time periods and cultures. Software tools support viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. This resource is made available solely for educational and scholarly uses that are noncommercial in nature.

CAMIO

Replaces AMICO. Provides images of fine and decorative art forms from prominent museums. Includes photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles, books, installations, architecture, and audio-video and mixed media. Images are licensed for educational use. Search by artist or work; or browse by style, date, medium, culture, technique or type of object.

Public Resources

Mayan Art

A site concerned with a photo archive of Mayan sites and artefacts.

Retanet

A variety of collections on several Latin American countries.

Tulane University's Photo Archive

TulaInstitute (MARI). They provide digital access to photos and guides to photo collections not yet online. Tulane has made their photographic collection a priority both in the Latin American Studies Library and the Middle American Research.

Vistas: Visual Culture in Spanish America 1520-1820

This is a highly visual web site that provides access to digital images, interpretive essays, and a searchable bibliography on visual culture in Spanish America from colonial times until 1820.

Image Research at Duke

A subject guide on finding images at Duke.


 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified October 10, 2008 11:38:02 AM EDT