Web Site Search

Link to Ask Us page

Latin American & Caribbean Studies

Polls, Public Opinion, & Statistics

Duke Users Only

feathered
                                           


In addition to the resources below, users may want to consult Data Services at Perkins.

Economist Intelligence Unit

EIU produces global macroeconomic forecasts and political and economic analysis for nearly 200 individual countries.  

ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research

Many datasets are available at ICPSR and data can be manipulated online avoiding downloading. Downloads are possible if you prefer.

iPOLL

iPOLL is a full-text retrieval system organized at the question-level which provides the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935. Data may be downloaded for secondary analysis.

LATINOBARÓMETRO

The Latinobarómetro is an annual study of public opinion in eighteen Latin American countries.  With the goal of providing a representative survey of Latin American public opinion over time. Latinobarómetro provides annual measures of attitudes toward democracy, civic culture, economic issues, gender issues, the environment, inequality, social capital, and trade policy.     

LexisNexis Academic

Open the database; click on "Reference" and then "Polls & Surveys". 

Polling the Nations

The database includes compilations of questions and responses from national, state, local and special surveys covering subjects from social and political concerns to economic issues. Information is gathered from professional polling organizations, television networks, universities, newspapers, businesses, and associations.

Public Resources



Center for Migration & Development, Princeton University

The Center focuses on Latin American and Latino research on migration and development. The web site provides free access to a data archive of unique studies on the field of Latin American and Latino migration and to its Working Paper Series in the same areas.   

ECLA or CEPAL Economic Commission for Latin America

ECLA or CEPAL, as it is known in Spanish, has online PDF versions of its annual Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean. The Yearbook contains a selection of the main statistical series available on economic and social trends in the countries of the region. 

LAPOP - Latin American Public Opinion Project

LAPOP surveys analyze citizen views on system support, political tolerance, citizen participation, local government, corruption, and views on authoritarianism. Surveys are archived for Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, and Venezuela.  

OxLAD- Oxford Latin American Economic History Database

The Oxford Latin American Economic History Database contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the period 1900-2000.  

Poverty Resource Guide

Organized by region and country, this site contains data specific to poverty.