Web Site Search

Link to Ask Us page

Latino Studies

Articles & Databases

For help with searching the databases,  please contact a librarian through Ask A Librarian, a service provided by the Reference Department.  You may also contact one of the Subject Librarians.

Blackwell Reference Online

Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management.

Chicano Database

Provides citations to the literature written by and about Chicanos (Mexican-Americans) and other Latinos in the United States. Citations added since 1992 also cover Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, a comprehensive resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provides access to encyclopedias, alamancs and other specialized reference materials in a wide range of subjects.  For search tips on finding reference works in Duke's collection, please consult the "Searching the Catalog for Reference Works" page in the Table of Contents on the left side of this page.

HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index

The HAPI database contains citations to journal articles and book reviews in English and Spanish dealing with Latin America, the Caribbean and Latinos in the United States.

INFORME

Informe contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles in Spanish. Although the majority of content is in Spanish, some English articles are included. It is best to search using Spanish keywords.

Informe es una base de datos publicada para usuarios hispanoparlantes que ofrece índices, imágenes, y textos completos de revistas populares y académicas en español. Además contiene una selección de artículos de periódicos latinoamericanos. La anotación de títulos aparece en inglés así como en español.

LANIC - Latin American Network Information Center

LANIC is a professionally staffed effort located at the University of Texas where full time faculty and trained student assistants seek and evaluate web sites relevant to all aspects of Latin American and Caribbean Studies. LANIC's Hispanic/Latino page is devoted to the following categories: Academic Resources; Arts, Literature & Humanities; Business & Economy; Community; Gender & Sexuality; Humor; Media; Music & Performing Arts; Popular Culture; Public Affairs; Other Indexes.

Oxford Reference Online 

Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

PRISMA - Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas

PRISMA  provides full-text to scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Latin America and the Caribbean. PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese and English language content. Coverage includes Anthropology, Business and Economics, History, Literature, Political Science, and Sociology. PRISMA includes key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI). It has significant content on Latino Studies.