Web Site Search

Ask us now
Starting Points

Search Duke's online catalog to locate materials in all formats held by or accessible through Duke Libraries. 

Many items in the Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library are in the online catalog, but others can only be accessed through the card catalog and other search tools available in the RBMSCL Reading Room, or in online finding aids and digitized collections.  The staff of the RBMSCL will be happy to help you locate materials in the collection.

Literatures in English

Catalogs

Locating books, manuscripts, AV materials, journals

Duke and Beyond

WorldCat (OCLC).  Catalog of materials held by 23,000 libraries in 63 countries, in all formats and languages.  Broad subject searches will yield too many items;  this database is best for locating known titles and/or authors and for identifying various modern editions.  Items not held by Duke can be requested through Interlibrary Loan--from the full record of an item in WorldCat, click on the "get it @ Duke" button and the ILL form will be filled out automatically.

RLG Union Catalog.  Similar to WorldCat;  best for searching for books, films, and rare and manuscript materials beyond Duke.

British Library.  Web access to the BL's catalogs and other features.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL).  Duke is a CRL member;  materials held there are available for extended Interlibrary Loan.

English Short Title Catalog (ESTC).  Records for works in any language printed in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing (1473) through the end of the 18th century, plus works printed in English anywhere in the world during that period.  Online version of Pollard & Redgrave, Wing, and the 18th Century Short Title Catalog.  See also Early English Books Online (EEBO), which contains images of a selection of ESTC titles, as well as EEBO-Text Creation Partnership, which contains images and is full-text searchable. 

Evans Digital Edition.  When complete, will include digital images of all titles included in Charles Evans' Early American Imprints plus Bristol's Supplement, which includes records for books published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries.  Duke owns the complete microfilm, call #S201.545.

Global Books in Print with Book Reviews.  Resource to locate books readily available for purchase.

National Library of Canada.  One of the Library's three major emphases is Canadian literature. 

National Union Catalog (NUC): pre-1956 imprints.  Describes 10 million works and indicates locations in more than 700 libraries.  Available in print in Perkins/Bostock Library, Stacks Oversize Z881.A1 U52 (some volumes may still be in the process of conversion to LC; Dewey number is Oversize 018.1 U58CB)  v. 1-685.