Web Site Search

Ask us now
Quick Links

MLA International Bibliography  core database for literary criticism

ABELL UK-based, criticism and scholarly reviews

Literature Resource Center biographical and critical info on authors

OED The Oxford English Dictionary

More Literature Databases

Literatures in English

Resources for Literatures in English

Sara Seten Berghausen, Subject Librarian

Perkins Library | sara@duke.edu | 919.660.5881

Please contact me with your research questions, comments or suggestions.  I am available to provide specialized research assistance for students and faculty in English, Linguistics, Literature, and Theater Studies;  let me know if you'd like help with specific research questions or just with a general orientation to the library. 

Teaching faculty:  I can work with you to plan a custom library workshop on a particular topic or research project for individual courses.  Workshops can be held in one of the library's hands-on training rooms, or in your regular classroom.

To suggest a title for purchase (print, electronic, journals, etc.), please e-mail me with as much information about the item as possible:  title and author at a minimum;  publisher and date, ISBN, price, and a short description are also helpful.  Let me know whether a particular edition is needed.  Be sure to include your e-mail address so that you can be contacted with questions and/or when the material is ready for pickup.  You may also use the request form on the main library web page to suggest a purchase.

Collection Description

Literature, linguistics and theory materials are located primarily in Perkins/Bostock Library.  (Book locations are in flux during our conversion to the Library of Congress classification system; please check with a Reference Librarian or consult Where are the Books? for exact book locations.) The collections cover fiction, poetry and criticism from the U.S. and the British Isles in depth, but literatures in English and criticism from around the world are acquired as well, in particular from commonwealth countries, Africa, and the Caribbean.  Perkins general collections complement manuscript and rare book holdings in the Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library, (see especially the RBMSCL guide to American and British Literary Materials) and one of the major strengths of both collections is literature of the American South.  Critical theory is purchased in depth, as are studies in popular culture and other related topics.  Lilly Library on East Campus houses collections in theater studies, film & video and visual culture, and philosophy, among other subject areas.