Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Maps

Travel & Reference Maps

Where Is It?
 
Before you take a trip, be sure to visit our web page with links to weather information.

 

Overview

The Map Collection in Perkins/Bostock includes many fold-up highway and street maps in the Map Collection Reference shelves.  The maps are organized alphabetically in pamphlet boxes by name of the depicted place in five main categories: 1.Countries, 2. International Cities, 3. U.S. States, 4. U.S. Cities, 5. North Carolina Cities.  There are also small sections with fold-up maps of Canadian Provinces, Mexican States, campus maps, and maps covering regions of the world larger than a single country.

Additionally, adjacent to these maps are fold-up visitor maps from the U.S. Forest Service and the Bureau of Land Management. These are arranged by Superintendent of Documents call number and can best be searched using either the library catalog or the Marcive database, or by asking staff for help.

Finally, we have some uncataloged travel brochures, mostly for places in the United States, in the Map Collection Vertical File, arranged by state, adjacent to the map reference shelving. 

These maps all circulate for one week to Duke users, except for maps of places in North Carolina.


Finding Addresses and Planning Routes

If you have a numbered street address or the name of both a street and a cross street, in addition to the paper maps mentioned above the following online services allow you to locate an address or get driving directions in the United States on a custom-made map.

All below sites:

  • allow you to locate an address
  • have a "driving directions" or "directions" feature that allows you to get detailed directions from one city or address to another
  • let you zoom to different levels of detail
  • let you email the URL of the map to an email address
  • except as noted, use NavTeq map data
Google Maps
Microsoft Maps
Button lets you resize the area that the map covers on the screen.
Maps On Us
Map service from Switchboard.com, data from TeleAtlas, formerly Etak map data.
Yahoo Maps

The above sites are all based on the Census Bureau's TIGER/Line database of U.S. streets. The Tiger Mapping Server (TMS) allows you to create a map of a place, but doesn't allow a search by a specific street address. It does have many options as to which features you want to display on the map compared to the commercial services listed below.


Real-Time Traffic Maps and Information

These maps display current freeway speeds, usually by color coding, and show incident locations. Often updated every minute or so.

General

Iteris Real-Time Traffic Maps
Links to a number of real-time maps around the USA managed by this company.
SmarTraveler
This site links to a number of traffic maps in the USA.
Travel Advisory News Network (TANN)
Real Time Traffic Congestion Maps: links to about 25 real-time traffic maps in the USA.

Specific U.S. Cities

Seattle Area Traffic Conditions
A color-coded map shows current freeway speeds in the Seattle area.
Gary-Chicago-Milwaukee Transportation Information Center
A color-coded map indicates the level of congestion on Chicago area freeways, with estimated travel time between selected points and downtown.
Houston Area Real-Time Traffic Report
A color-coded map shows current traffic speeds on freeways in Houston. Freeway segments are clickable to get more exact data on traffic speed, or you can go to detailed data report tables with speed information for different segments.
Current San Antonio Traffic Conditions
Operated by TransGuide.

Non-U.S.

Paris, France
SYTADIN: the real-time traffic map of the Paris area. The small scale map is clickable to obtain enlargements of sections of the map.

City and Campus Maps and Guides

In addition to the paper maps in the Map Collection, the following online services may be helpful.

Duke University and Durham, NC

Duke University West Campus and East Campus maps
From the Office of Undergraduate Admissions.  Stylized presentation may cause confusion for visitors.
Duke University Maps
Maps from Duke's Parking and Transportation Services, showing parking areas and buildings on the campus and Medical Center.  Accurately scaled and detailed, but doesn't show all the most recent construction.
Duke University Accessibility Maps
Interactive maps of Duke campus and Medical Center (including the Marine Lab in Beaufort) showing buildings and accessible paths and building entrances. Shows fairly recent construction projects.
Duke University and Medical Center Bus System Maps
A small scale map covering all of East and West campuses.
Duke University's Sarah P. Duke Gardens Map
A clickable map of the gardens showing paths and highlighting key features.
Durham City Information
Searchable directory of resources in and about Durham, compiled by Perkins Library.

Other Places

College and University Maps
CampusTours.com provides links to online maps of college campuses as well as to the general web site, online campus tours, live webcams, and videos.
North Carolina City Information
Links to official government web sites for NC cities and regions, as well as chambers of commerce, convention bureaus, and visitors' guides.
Real-Time Traffic Maps and Reports
Show current traffic conditions in major cities.
Yahoo Regional pages
The U.S. States or Countries categories will lead to an option to browse information available for individual cities and metropolitan areas.

Country and World Maps

See further below for information on page-sized paper maps in the Map Collection and similar reference maps online.
Color Landform Atlas of the United States
Images of US states: shaded relief, false-color satellite view, and maps from an 1895 atlas.
Earth Viewer (European mirror site)
From Fourmilab in Switzerland.  Just for starters, "you can view either a map of the Earth showing the day and night regions at this moment, or view the Earth from the Sun, the Moon, the night side of the Earth, above any location on the planet specified by latitude, longitude and altitude, from a satellite in Earth orbit, or above various cities around the globe."
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas at Austin)
You can download many simple reference maps published by the CIA.
Peters Projection (call numbers below)
This is a world map that uses a much publicized equal-area projection to heighten awareness about how the choice of map projections can affect or be affected by one's view of the world.  This projection, however, was not devised in 1974 by Arno Peters as he claimed but was first published in the 19th century by James Gall, called Gall's Orthographic Equal-Area Projection. Even then, it wasn't the first nor is it the most visually appealing projection that maintains correct area relationships.  See article by Jeremy Crampton in Cartographica, 31(4), pp. 16-32, for a longer discussion, or the discussion by Matt Rosenberg at About.com.
The Map Collection has copies of the map at Oversize G3201 .B72 1984 .O9 (laying on top of the cabinets of the "G" schedule), as well as an atlas at Map Coll. Ref. Oversize 912 P481, P481, 1990.
United Nations Cartographic Section (version français)
The Maps and Geographic Information page leads to online maps in Adobe Acrobat format: both general reference maps as well as deployment maps for peacekeeping missions.

Outline and Page-Size Maps

The Map Collection at Perkins Library contains several types of maps that are easy to photocopy for personal use onto a single page.

CIA reference maps Map Coll. Ref. PrEx 3.10/4: [alpha by title] (in 3-ring binders)
Map Coll. Vertical File, by call number (see guide on front of drawer)
Do-It-Yourself Book of Blank Maps Map Coll. Ref. 526.0221 M661 D631 1992
Base Map Collection Map Coll. Ref. 912 B299 1997
Maps On File  Map Coll. Ref. 912 M297 F481x
State Maps On File Map Coll. Ref. 912.73 F142 S797 1984
Historical Maps on File Map Coll. Ref. 911 M381 H673 1984

Additionally, the following web sites provide online access to such reference maps.

Blank & Outline Maps
Links compiled for About.com pointing to sites with copyright free or free-for-non-commercial-use online maps.
County Outline Maps (U.S. Census Bureau)
County outlines by state, for 1990 and 2000, in Adobe Acrobat format. Other printable maps (e.g., OMB-defined metro areas) available from the Census Bureau Map Products page.
National Geographic Xpeditions Atlas
Can display and print black & white printable maps from your web browser in GIF or Adobe Acrobat format.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas at Austin)
They have scanned many of the page-sized CIA reference maps.
Desktop mapping or GIS programs such as ArcGIS can also be a good way to get an outline map if you have a little time and are particular about what features it contains or the region it covers.
 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified January 15, 2012 3:49:26 PM EST